List Songs That Immediately Change Your Mood

That is one of the many things music does, it can change your mood, how you are feeling, what you are feeling. It motivates you into action and it causes you to stop what you’re doing and take a look at where your life is heading. Music is a positive, powerful tool! I think that may be one of the primary reasons I love music so much so for this post, once again inspired by Music Listology from Lisa Nola, let’s discuss the songs that immediately change your (MY) mood.

Rollins Band – “Low Self Opinion”. The guy used the term “introspection”, how cool is that? The tune possesses a lot of anger, no surprise from a song written by Rollins but this is a powerful song about getting your act together and taking care of business. Perfect for the gym or when writing a dissertation, it’s all about getting motivated.

Journey – “Only the Young”. Don’t say you’re a wrestler if you have not watched or read (please read the book, my friend Terry Davis wrote it) Vision Quest. Greatest motivational story ever in my humble opinion and this song is the perfect soundtrack to when Louden Swain was running across the Monroe Street Bridge in Spokane, Washington after beating Kuch in a wrestle-off then going to work.

A Flock of Seagulls – “Space Age Love Song”. I am in the greatest mood when I hear this track, amazing love song and for me sums up how I felt growing up in the eighties so much.

Slayer – “War Ensemble”. This song is intense violence personified and I saw that in full display when Slayer played this live in 1991 at Veteran’s Memorial Coliseum as part of the “Clash of the Titans” tour. I will never forget that moment and this song continues to instantly transform my mood.

DeVotchKa – “How It Ends”. I think the song talks about death but also talks about having faith in some Higher Power to give you the strength to live your life to the fullest. I tear up any time I hear this beautiful song and seeing them play it live at Red Rocks in 2008 was unbelievable. Yep, I was the concert this video clip is from!

Elbow – “Puncture Repair”. Oh my. You could pick ANY song from the greatest band in the world and it will stir up something internally. I picked “Puncture Repair” because the theme about being broken and your loved ones picking you up resonates with me so fricken much. Such a simple song with such a powerful message.

Foo Fighters – “My Hero”. I think we all have that one person in life who is a role model, someone to look up to, a hero. I’m lucky to have a few so this song from Foo Fighters is not just my favorite from the band but the most meaningful is well. Then I saw this video tonight when writing this and just lost it.

James – “Laid”. I don’t dance but last year when I was at the Made in Manchester Festival with my boyfriend Jean-Robert the DJ played this song and the next thing I know I was dancing and singing along. I was so happy and so into that moment. THAT is how I want to feel all the time! This live video shows exactly what I was feeling that day.

SSD – “Glue”. I’m straight edge so this song and the EP it is from mean a lot to me but the overwhelming power of this music just puts my mind in a frenzy! So bummed I never got to see SSD live.

The Beat – “Save it for Later”. I challenge anyone to play this song and not at least smile if not get off your ass and dance! I am always in a great mood when I hear this classic tune, pop music perfection.

Etta James – “At Last”. I never even heard this song until I was in my forties yet the impact it has is monumental. The story in those lyrics and that stunning voice bring me to tears just about every time. THAT is what a great song does!

Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”. This is a true anthem, not just about being from and living in New York but to me the song represents hope and following your dreams. No wonder I tear up every time I play this amazing song!

Sarah Brightman and Andrea Bocelli – “Time To Say Goodbye”. I lose it every time I hear this piece, may be one of the most beautiful duets ever. I realize that the meaning of this song may lose a little going from the original Italian version to English but the emotion stays intact.

A Place to Bury Strangers – “Ocean”. I wish you could have experienced seeing A Place to Bury Strangers for the first time at the 2008 Monolith Festival with me, they ended their set with this song and ended their 2009 set at Coachella with “Ocean” as well. That is the video I included here for you, I apologize for the very shitty recording. Play it loud and get a taste of what I experienced and continue to feel 15+ years later when I hear this. It still fills me full of a controlled rage!

Band of Horses – “The Funeral”. I hate using the word “epic” to describe music but you have to with this song. I will play this song at my funeral, glad I won’t be there to cry in front of everyone because I usually do when I hear this.

Fleet Foxes – “Grown Ocean”. Whoa, I have always liked this song from Fleet Foxes, a lot, but seeing them play it live in 2022 makes it resonate so much more now. Harmonies like this are really soothing to me!

Peter Gabriel – “The Rhythm of the Heat”. The build-up on this song is so intense, almost frightening to be honest. Peter Gabriel puts me on edge big time when I hear this track, especially with that explosive climax!

Public Image Ltd. – “Public Image”. I was a big Sex Pistols fan, not so much with PiL BUT I love the declaration of independence on this tune. I get riled up when I hear it and inspired to be my own person and say “fuck you” to anyone who wishes to get in my face and change my opinion when I know I’m right about something.

The National – “About Today”. The National know how to rip at your emotions and the message, at least to me years ago when this song really messed with my head, was about losing someone dear to me and no matter what I did or said could not bring that person back. I still feel those emotions today when I hear this.

Hoodoo Gurus – “What’s My Scene”. Hey, sometimes I just want to be ultra happy and “What’s My Scene” with those perfect pop hooks always does the trick!

Hope you like some of these! Cheers!

Published by tfronky

Enjoy this little blog that will center around music. Age and a higher level of job responsibility have caused me to not go to as many shows as I used to but don't get me wrong - I still love the live music experience.

Leave a comment