On the 9th Day of a Tfronky Christmas …

Luciano Pavarotti - O Holy Night

I can remember singing “O Come All Ye Faithful” in grade school during those Christmas pageants we would have to participate in (my enthusiasm should be overwhelming to you) and during Mass. I thought because of that musical travesty I would talk about a man who knew a thing or two about singing. The legendary Luciano Pavarotti.

I will keep this very brief because I know nothing about opera. Okay, one thing. I REALLY liked listening to this guy, what an unbelievable voice. O Holy Night was a Christmas album he released in 1976. Get it. I really don’t care what genre of music you like, just get it. It puts me in the proper Christmas spirit every year. Then be sure to watch the 1978 Christmas concert he filmed at the Notre Dame Cathedral in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, accompanied by Petis Chanteurs du Mont-Royal and The Disciples de Massenet. It is truly glorious folks. Here is “Adeste fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful)” from that concert.

Cheers!

Published by tfronky

Enjoy this little blog that will center around music. Age and a higher level of job responsibility have caused me to not go to as many shows as I used to but don't get me wrong - I still love the live music experience.

Leave a comment