I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want The Damned to play my birthday party

I have to confess … I’m kind of chumping out with this post. The Damned are playing in Tempe TONIGHT and I’m being a little sissy and not going. I know the “work” excuse wears thin after a while but it truly is the case and even with abstaining from the alcohol I still suck the next day at the office if I go to a show the night before. If I had never gone to a Damned concert in the past I would suck it up but since I have …

Enough justification. For those of you that do go I know you are in for a treat. To me it is insane that this band is celebrating FORTY years this year! Many people when talking about the “first wave of UK punk” will bring up The Sex Pistols, The Clash, even The Buzzcocks before bringing up the mighty Damned. However, let’s look at the facts. The Damned were the first punk rock band from the United Kingdom to release a single, “New Rose” in 1976, release an album, Damned Damned Damned in 1977 and tour the United States. Even more incredible is the fact they just signed a record deal earlier this month and plan to release their first album since 2008!

The Damned are such a unique band, maneuvering through multiple genres such as punk, post punk and goth with relative ease, always with a strong pop aesthetic in the mix. It makes it easy to put on any slab of vinyl they have created over the years and be entertained. If you don’t have their ten studio albums already then 1987’s two-disc compilation Light At The End Of The Tunnel is a fantastic start. Check out this piece from the New Times, a great interview with The Damned for even more great info, then have a listen to this playlist!

Here is a different kind of video for you. My favorite song from the band is “Nasty”, partially because of its use in this 1984 episode of “The Young Ones”. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

