I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want the Foo Fighters to play my birthday party

So who can name a bigger rock band today that is still able to effectively cling to the DIY aesthetic and non-mainstream attitude that I love? Nirvana may have had more an immediate impact but the fact remains that The Foo Fighters have been doing this 1994. Hard to believe that it has been 23 years now, nearly three times as long as Nirvana. I will admit, when the news broke on April 8, 1994 that Cobain was dead I was devastated. Some people think it’s stupid to be affected by the death of a celebrity. I don’t wallow in the grief but the fact remains that music speaks to me in ways mere words cannot, so losing that band, especially in the manner it happened, just flat-out sucked. I was convinced no music from the other two guys would ever happen again.

Then the debut album from The Foo Fighters was released in 1995 and I nearly ____ myself. The hooks, the power, the energy, the shredding … it was all still there. I knew Dave Grohl could play the drums well and knew he was a great backing vocalist. I never thought he could make the proper transition to front-man. That self-titled debut was amazing (still is) and once he recruited bassist Nate Mendel and drummer William Goldsmith from Sunny Day Real Estate, and Pat Smear from The Germs and Nirvana a deadly foursome was unleashed on the music world. They played a killer opening set for Mike Watt at Chuy’s (or was it Gibson’s back then, so long ago can’t remember) in Old Town Tempe and that album became a solid release.

I was a HUGE Sunny Day Real Estate fan so when Grohl re-recorded all of William Goldsmith’s drum parts for their second album I was PISSED. However, once I saw the video for “Monkey Wrench” (back when MTV had world premiere videos) and The Colour and the Shape was released I had a change of heart. As good as the debut was their sophomore release was huge, a truly epic piece of work. The Colour and the Shape is still my favorite album from the band, never gets old and always puts a smile on my face. “My Hero” is an all-time favorite song from any band, has a lot of personal meaning for me and if this quote from Dave Grohl is legitimate the song is “(his) way of saying that when I was young, I didn’t have big rock heroes, I didn’t want to grow up and be some big sporting hero. My heroes were ordinary people and the people that I have a lot of respect for are just solid everyday people – people you can rely on.”

Fast forward 20 years since the release of that album and The Foo Fighters are not only still together (they have to keep refuting rumors to the contrary), they have released six more albums, created a TV documentary for HBO and looks like they are finally going to get that chance to headline Glastonbury this year, plus word is they are working on their latest album this year! For now I’ll roll with this set …

I should have at least two other tickets to add to this post, damn it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

