I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want The Smiths to play my birthday party

the-smithsHey, the last post was absurd as well, right? I have no expectations, or even hopes for The Jam or The Smiths to actually reunite and play again but there is no denying how awesome it would be if it ever happened. The Smiths were one of the most important bands of my high school and early college years. As much as I loved new wave music, and the U.K. provided some awesome exports from that genre, The Smiths focus on guitars, bass and drums was more to my liking as a post punk and punk rock fan. Sadly they never experienced the success they deserved here in the States during their brief but unreal run for a mere five years between 1982-1987.

The first time I heard The Smiths was when MTV’s 120 Minutes played the “How Soon is Now?” video. I was blown away by Johnny Marr’s guitar work but it was that vocal delivery of Morrissey that hooked me. He was 100% unique and I NEEDED to hear more. The track was originally a B-side on their 1984 single “William, It Was Really Nothing” but luckily the U.S. pressing of the band’s second album, 1985’s Meat is Murder included the song. It is not on the original U.K. pressing. I will be honest, it took me some time to “get” the Meat is Murder album but luckily there were a number of my friends in high school that also liked the band. One of them played me the band’s 1984 compilation of BBC Radio 1 studio recordings, B-sides and remixed A-sides entitled Hatful of Hollow. That album truly introduced me to the genius of The Smiths.

Stinks that we only got four studio albums from the band but they also released several compilation albums. 1987’s Louder Than Bombs is my personal favorite album from The Smiths and I have worn out copies on both vinyl and cassette due to being played so dang much. The CD still gets played a lot today. I was lucky enough to be a fan when the band was actually together and they will always hold a special place in my heart. It’s just too bad that the whole thing ended so fast and that legal proceedings after they broke up have tainted the legacy of The Smiths. There are rumors constantly that they will reunite but I don’t ever see it happening. When Morrissey supposedly stated in 2006 “I would rather eat my own testicles than reform The Smiths, and that’s saying something for a vegetarian,” that to me pretty much solidifies things. But never say never, right?

If it happens maybe they will play this set: 🙂

the-smiths-setlist-part-1the-smiths-setlist-part-2

I know this will piss some fans off but Morrissey solo in my opinion is beyond worthless. I liked the Viva Hate, Bona Drag and Your Arsenal albums but the way the guy schedules and cancels concerts is ridiculous. I saw him at Coachella in 2009 and when he started whining about being able to smell meat I was done with him. Yep Morrissey, “That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore”. Guitarist Johnny Marr has created some great work since the demise of The Smiths and bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce have contributed to several artists as well since 1987. There just was something magical that happened when these four artists played together and it really is a shame that it probably will never occur again.

Oh well … cheers!

Leave a Reply

