I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want Dead Can Dance to play my birthday party

Dead Can Dance - Temple Buell Theatre - 8-19-2012 - 3Sorry for the grainy pic folks, this was taken at the Temple Buell Theater in Denver, Colorado back on August 19, 2012. Yes, I got to see Dead Can Dance in concert during their 2012 reunion tour. That show truly was one of the most stupendous concerts I ever had the pleasure of attending. Rather than use space here to talk about it check out an old Musings post about Dead Can Dance in concert at the Temple Buell Theater August 19, 2012.

Dead Can Dance is a band I have written about a lot on this blog so at this point there really isn’t anything unique for me to say. Writing this post did made me think of what Anthony Kiedis from the Red Hot Chili Peppers said about the Talking Heads when they were inducted in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; listening to Dead Can Dance makes me feel smarter. That isn’t quite what Kiedis said but it was something similar. 😉 Dead Can Dance creates a complex style of World music, full of epic songs that at times will rip your heart out. I have felt that way ever since I first heard them back in the late eighties.

When I saw them live they played a number of songs off this wish-list. “Sanvean” and “The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove” still give me chills to this day …

dead-can-dance-setlist-part-1dead-can-dance-setlist-part-2

Here are links to past Dead Can Dance Musings posts this obsessive fan wrote over the years.

Cheers!
tfronky

dead_can_dance_81920121

Leave a Reply

