I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want Bob Mould to play my birthday party

Bob Mould at the First Avenue - Minneapolis - September 15, 2012 - 2

Bob Mould performing Copper Blue and Silver Age at the First Avenue – Minneapolis – September 15, 2012

Well, to be honest, the first thing I want is for Mould to play a show here in Arizona. Anywhere. I HATE Tucson but will travel south in a heartbeat to see this living legend and god live.

I never saw Husker Du in concert. 😦 Therefore, the first time I saw Bob Mould onstage was an ear-splitting Sugar show at the Electric Ballroom back in 1994. Sugar was touring in support of their second and final studio LP File Under: Easy Listening. My ears were ringing for days after that show and I was a wuss, I was all the way in the back of the venue! I knew back then that I had witnessed true greatness and one time seeing Mould was more than I could ever hope for.

Fast forward to 2009. I was in Minneapolis and part of the trip was supposed to involve seeing the Bloc Party at the First Avenue, a venue that was on my bucket list. The band ended up cancelling the show but luckily for me Bob Mould was playing a show the same night at the Varsity Theater, just before his ninth solo album Life and Times was released. It was billed as an acoustic performance with just Mould and bassist Jason Narducy playing together but toward the end of the show The Man plugged in for a few songs. It was an amazing night and even better was meeting some very cool people in Minneapolis that I have stayed in touch with. That became very important three years later.

I saw Bob Mould two more times in 2009, a month later when I celebrated my 40th birthday at Coachella and then in October at Neumos in Seattle. Yes, three shows in one year and I traveled for all three. As good as all three of those concerts were none of them compared to the unbelievable affair at the First Avenue (yes, crossed that off my bucket list) in 2012. Bob Mould was touring the country to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Copper Blue from Sugar, my #4 pick for Best Albums of All-Time and still my all-time Best Debut Album. He also had just released his tenth solo disc that same year Silver Age, an album that started what many music critics consider the most prolific period of his amazing career.

For this post I listened to every Husker Du, Sugar and solo Bob Mould release I have, so needless to say preparing this post took some time. It was worth it listening to every beautiful, intense track this artist has created since 1979. Husker Du tracks that I selected are specifically tracks he wrote and sang. This was a tough set list to create – how in the world do I narrow Mould’s brilliant catalog down to just 25 songs? Here it is though folks, my dream concert of THE Bob Mould:

Bob Mould setlist part 1Bob Mould setlist part 2

I can’t wait to see what Duane and Doug think. 🙂 And who knows, maybe another show this September? I was looking through old Musings posts once I had the playlist set and I think Elbow is the only artist I have written about more. Yeah, I idolize this guy for a number of reasons. Check out these old Musings and more important, check out his music. Mould continues to alter my musical landscape all these years later. Cheers!

Here we go! How about we start with a list of favorite bands?
Best Concerts of 2009
Bob Mould at the First Avenue September 15, 2012
The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Bob Mould
The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Sugar
S is for Sugar
50 Songs That Make me Wish I was in a Band or Orchestra

Sugar at Electric Ballroom 12-8-1994

Coachells 4-18-2009

Bob Mould at Neumos 10-15-2009

Bob Mould at First Avenue 9-15-2012

outside the First Avenue before the Mould concert - Minneapolis - yep I found the Bob Mould star! - 9-15-2012

 

 

Leave a Reply

