I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want We Were Promised Jetpacks and Tokyo Police Club to play my birthday party

Tokyo Police Club 6-18-2016 at Crescent Ballroom
We Were Promised Jetpacks 6-18-2016 at Crescent Ballroom
So the funny thing is both these bands actually just played a show at the Crescent Ballroom on Saturday, June 18th, so the title of the post is kind of correct I guess. 😉 I have liked both bands for quite a while now. The first time I heard We Were Promised Jetpacks was December 2009 and their debut album was so intense it still made my Best Albums of 2009 list. I saw them for the first time just a few months later at the Rhythm Room and the EP they had just released and were selling at the show made my Best Albums of 2010 list. They hit the trifecta in 2011 with their second full-length album, a disc that was my #2 pick for Best Albums of 2011. Yeah, I kind of dig this band. The June 18th show was the second time seeing them at the Crescent and third time overall. They were mind-blowing as always; if you have never seen them play be bummed, they absolutely shred live.

I can’t remember the first year I saw Tokyo Police Club live. I do know it was a small show at Anderson’s Fifth Estate in Scottsdale. The next two times I saw them were in 2008, once at The Clubhouse in Tempe then as part of the 2008 Monolith Festival in Morrison, Colorado at Red Rocks. I know most people rave about Coachella (which I attended in 2009) and Lollapalooza but Monolith remains my favorite festival, too bad 2009 was the last year. That Anderson’s show was unreal, incredible energy from the band, indicative of the first EP and album they released. The Saturday Crescent show showcased the band’s progress to a more pop oriented sound which the under 21 crowd ate up.

WWPJ only played 11 songs which was a bummer for me but the set list was awesome. They lead off with my favorite song, the lead track from These Four Walls “It’s Thunder and it’s Lightning” and delivered an incendiary “Pear Tree” as their second to last song. I was ultra surprised when they played “Safety In Numbers”, my favorite track off Unravelling. Now if this show was for my birthday party these would have been my requested set lists from both bands:

WWPJ setlist

Tokyo Police Club setlist

Yep, both the subdued and hyper-frenetic versions of “Short Bursts” in the same set from WWPJ! I already have the next Musings playlist set to write about, I think Duane and Doug will love it. 😉 Cheers!

We Were Promised Jetpacks 2-23-2010 at the Rhythm RoomTokyo Police Club 3-29-2008 at The Clubhouse2008 Monolith Festival

 

Leave a Reply

