I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want U2 to play my birthday party

U2I believe that the count is six for the number of times I saw U2 play over the years. The best concert was the 1984 or 1985 (can’t remember the year, I just remember it was my sophomore year in high school and Red Rockers opened) show at Compton Terrace in support of The Unforgettable Fire. I also remember being grounded because it took over an hour to get out of that parking lot when the concert was over and it was a school night. Then it seemed everyone from my senior class saw at least one if not all four shows they played in Tempe in 1987, two at the ASU Activity Center in April with Lone Justice opening and two more at Sun Devil Stadium with BB King (!) opening that December. Too bad that dreadful Achtung Baby concert is the last time I shelled out money to see them because my understanding is they rock again live. But that night sucked, my sister and I spent more time watching the World Series box score update displayed on one of their monitors that was part of the monster set.

Needless to say this wish list is dominated by tracks from the first five albums: Boy; October; War; The Unforgettable Fire and The Joshua Tree, plus one from Achtung Baby. “Beautiful Day” barely missed the cut and I avoided all other material. Sorry folks, just my preference. It’s my birthday party … Here is the set list:

U2 setlist“11 O’Clock Tick Tock” and “40” finish off a great concert to give us 25 songs. πŸ™‚ Cheers!

 

2 comments

  1. djginsu · April 27, 2016

    Frank, if you ever get U2 to play your party and they play that set list (well, the set list doesn’t really matter, but THAT set list totally rocks!), I will never talk to you again if I’m not on the invite list!!! πŸ˜‰

    • tfronky · April 28, 2016

      I would invite you in a heartbeat!

Leave a Reply

