T is for The Twilight Sad

The Twilight Sad
Back in December 2009 I walked into Stinkweeds Records and asked Lindsay what was out that I needed to buy that day. She suggested two FatCat Records bands, We Were Promised Jetpacks and The Twilight Sad. GREAT call, both of those albums even though I bought them so late in the year ended up on my 2009 Best Albums list with Forget the Night Ahead from The Twilight Sad taking the #3 spot that year.

I love the classic shoegaze sound created by several British bands in the late eighties/early nineties. Twilight Sad takes that genre and adds layers of post punk to the mix, creating a potent and at times ear-splitting sound. After listening to the album a few times I did a bit of research and according to several music critics Forget the Night Ahead marked a bit of change in direction for the band, both lyrically due to the personal lyrical content and musically due to the darker tone. All I knew was the sound has all the characteristics of shoegaze that I liked: guitars that shimmered brilliantly; an intense wall of sound created; drums that were delivered with thunderous power. Add that brilliant thick Scottish vocal delivery of James Graham and I was hooked.

Twilight Sad released its debut Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters in 2007 and I could immediately see why the album received the critical acclaim it did. I could also feel the difference from the second album in terms of the onslaught of power but trust me folks, this album smacks the listener just as hard. Their third album No One Can Ever Know was released in 2012 and personally was a bit of a let-down but the band came back in stunning fashion with 2014’s Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave. That album landed The Twilight Sad once again in my best albums list for the year.

This is a great band folks, Twilight Sad packs an amazing amount of power over incredibly lush arrangements and most important, ensures that there are plenty of pop hooks embedded within each song as well. It is a shame that the band has not become huge here in the States, check out this track from their second disc to get a taste of what they offer. I suggest turning the volume up as loud as you can on your player. 🙂 The name of the song is “That Birthday Present”.

Cheers!
Album Inspiration: Forget the Night Ahead

Leave a Reply

