Q is for Queens of the Stone Age

Queens of the Stone Age
How about some down and dirty rock and roll for this post? Call me lame but the first time I heard Queens of the Stone Age was when I saw the video for “No One Knows” from 2002’s Songs for the Deaf. The problem at that time was the song was a huge turn-off for me so I never bothered to listen to the rest of the album.

Three years later that changed when one of my friends put on Lullabies to Paralyze for me to check out. Several tracks on that disc absolutely smoke, including “Medication”, “Everybody Knows That You Are Insane” and “Little Sister”. Most intriguing for me though is the fact founder, guitarist and lead vocalist Josh Homme creates such riff heavy music that can feature dance-oriented rhythms and electronica influences. This is rock and roll but there is absolutely nothing normal or generic about what QOTSA do.

I had a chance to see this band open for Nine Inch Nails during the tour supporting Lullabies to Paralyze and they shredded. Hard. After that show I picked up both Songs for the Deaf and their second album Rated R that was released in 2000. Two other characterstics about Queens of the Stone Age that resonate with me include a constant shift in the line-up of the band and guest musicians on most discs, including Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters, Nirvana and Scream, Rob Halford from Judas Priest, Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top and Trent Reznor from NIN.

Can’t believe I missed seeing these guys at the Fair this past fall. I am sure they still shred. Hard. Take a listen to one of my favorite tracks from QOTSA, “Little Sister”.

Cheers!

Album Inspiration: Lullabies to Paralyze

Leave a Reply

