I is for Ice Cube

Ice CubeI am not a big fan of hip hop at all, probably even less of a fan of “gangsta rap.” Even if a band creates music that I do not like I can at least have respect for the fact they can play their instruments, unless that band happens to be The Eagles, Styx or Nickelback. Hip hop artists though primarily sample other artists music and rarely pick up an instrument so unless the artist creates something unique and special (in my opinion) I consider whatever was created to be pretty worthless.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not a fan of much of the work created by Ice Cube and the fact he was doing family comedy for a few years after starring in films like “Boyz n the Hood” and “Friday” and creating albums such as AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted and Death Certificate kills me. However, 1990’s AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted was so good, so intense, so brutal that it is hard for me to overlook the impact that album had on me and scores of other listeners.

There was nothing pretty about that debut album. The beats were vicious, the lyrics incendiary and the vocal delivery completely in your face. I loved every second of it with some of the highlights being “The Nigga Ya Love to Hate”, “AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted”, “Turn Off the Radio” and “Endangered Species (Tales of the Darkside)”. Check out the song “The Nigga Ya Love to Hate”. Yeah, there are just a few F bombs in this.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

