On the day after Christmas Elbow reminds us it’s Boxing Day

Elbow - 2I may live in the U.S. rather than the U.K. but because of the greatest band in the world Elbow Boxing Day means something to me for the last four years. I don’t employ any servants or tradesmen,  I don’t live in another part of the world where the day after Christmas is a banking holiday and I do not even believe in the idea of a “shopping holiday”, whether it is the day after Christmas or day after Thanksgiving.

Nope, Boxing Day for me is hanging out with friends I didn’t see on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day and listening to “Lippy Lids” from Elbow. The band released this song on Boxing Day back in 2010, the first song we had a chance to hear from the album Build a Rocket Boys! that was released March 2011. Four years later I still make a point of playing this tune over and over on this day. Enjoy.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

