On the seventh and eighth days of Christmas Tfronky gave to me …

Charlie Brown at the frozen pond

Santa Claus is Coming to Town
Vince Guaraldi and Fred Astaire (Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town). Sorry folks for missing a Musings on Saturday, so I figured I would combine my two favorite Christmas cartoons into one post today. To me no Christmas is complete without watching A Charlie Brown Christmas and Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town. I love many holiday specials but these two put me in the holiday spirit more than all others. Last year A Charlie Brown Christmas was the 14th Day of Christmas Tfronky Style and Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town was the 5th Day.

Vince Guaraldi was an American jazz musician and pianist that was responsible for composing the music for the animated adaptations of the Peanuts comic strip. I never miss any of the Peanuts holiday specials and the Christmas special is my favorite. A Charlie Brown Christmas was released by the Vince Guaraldi Trio in 1965 and the song “Linus and Lucy” was composed for the album. Most people just know the composition as the “Peanuts Theme” and several artists have covered the tune over the years, including J.F.A. and Built to Spill.

Fred Astaire played the role of S.D. Kluger in Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, a 1970 stop-motion animated Christmas special that first aired in 1970. Mickey Rooney played the role of Kris Kringle/Santa Claus in this tale about how the traditions surrounding Santa Claus came to be.

When you consider the fact I was born in 1969 it is safe to say these two specials have been a vital part of every Christmas for me. Here is a clip from each. Enjoy!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

