S is for Source Victoria

DSC01749A friend told me once in regards to this blog “You only post about Source Victoria.” Lies but I have no problem admitting I posted about the band a lot back in 2010 and 2011. I keep my fingers crossed for the opportunity to post about the band again in the present tense.

Ever since I stumbled across this band when Source Victoria opened for Adam Franklin back in January 2010 I have been a huge fan. You have to understand something, I practically worship Swervedriver so I consider Adam Franklin to be a rock god. I was in the middle of talking to the guy at the bar before his set and Source actually caused me to excuse myself so I could wander up front and check out what the band was doing. No joke, my first time seeing them was that night and I was totally impressed. I cannot even tell you how many times I have seen the band since.

Unfortunately it has been a while since the band played live after one drummer left the band to join the Gin Blossoms, then his replacement left in April 2013. Folks, if I could play drums worth a lick I would beg front man Brendan Murphy to allow me to take that spot behind the drum kit. Of course, I would have to beg bassist Justin Entsminger as well because the last thing I would want to do as a fan is screw up his mojo as an artist. That guy truly knows how to be 1/2 of a great rhythm section.

I’m lucky enough to have the band’s 2005 self-titled EP, 2007’s The Fast Escape and their last release, 2011’s Slow Luck which was my #5 pick for Album of the Year in 2011 with the second track from the album “Nobody Knows But Me” my #2 pick for Song of the Year in 2011. I still see the discs at Stinkweeds Records so pick one of them up next time you are visiting the store. I love dream pop and I really miss this band.

The second interview I had the pleasure of doing for this blog was with Brendan back on November 15, 2011. I will provide the link at the end of this post. Happy Birthday Murphy, S had to be about Source Victoria. Now get a drummer, please.

I was searching for a video for “Opportunistic”, one of my favorite songs from the band and came across this little gem. Enjoy.

Other Musings concerning Source Victoria, all essential.
Source opens for The Henry Clay People
CD release party review for Slow Luck
Interview with Brendan Murphy of Source Victoria
Review of Slow Luck
Source unveils its new disc Slow Luck
The release of the “Once I’m Dead” single
Source at Yucca Tap Room 2011
Source at Teakwoods January 2011
Source at Teakwoods February 2010
Source at Yucca Tap Room January 2010
Review of The Fast Escape from Source Victoria
Best Concerts of 2010
Best Albums of 2010 … and a little more

Cheers!

Album Inspiration: The Fast Escape

Leave a Reply

