Q is for Queen

QueenSome people might say the letter Q offers slim pickings for quality music. I beg to differ. No matter what genre of music you prefer I cannot logically see how anyone could rationalize not having at least a healthy respect for Queen – at least when Freddie Mercury was still alive. Queen created rock and roll in its purest form in my opinion and did it with a pizzazz that most bands cannot even fathom.

Queen was one of those bands that you were not supposed to like during its prime if you liked punk rock, new wave or any other type of music that was considered “alternative” in the seventies and eighties. I always thought that was asinine. Yes, Queen was the epitome of the “stadium rock” bands from that era but nothing about the band was typical. This was rock and roll delivered with passion and delivered so well that you had to listen in awe. Whether listening to the symphonic rock of “Bohemian Rhapsody”, the powerful anthem of “We Will Rock You” or even the disco-inspired “Another One Bites the Dust” I was inspired and yes, this even includes “Flash”. I loved that track before it was featured in the movie “Ted”.

It was the summer before my junior year in high school when the Live Aid concert was a worldwide event. I was glued to the TV all day. The roster on both sides of the Atlantic was unbelievable, with U2, The Boomtown Rats, David Bowie and Led Zeppelin being just a few of the memorable artists from the concert. Nothing came close to what Queen did that day. They owned Wembley Stadium on July 13, 1985 and the band’s 25 minute set is considered by many to be rock and roll’s all-time greatest gig.

This was when I was truly bummed that I had never seen the band live and as it turns out never did. Check out this video and you will see why. “Radio Ga Ga” still gives me chills to this day.

Cheers!

Album Inspiration: The Platinum Collection boxed set (yeah I cheated, big deal)

 

One comment

  1. courtneystreeter · June 13, 2015

    Totally agree! If a person doesn’t respect the works of Queen then I’m unlikely to respect them. (… Well, that might be a little harsh.)

Leave a Reply

