H is for Hotels

Hotels
Back in October 2009 I visited Seattle for the first time. That was an amazing week, saw Bob Mould, Sunny Day Real Estate, The Jealous Sound and A Place to Bury Strangers live in a five day span at three different venues, watched the Arizona Cardinals light up the Seattle Seahawks (how I wish Kurt Warner could play forever!) and drank tons of coffee. I also found this killer record store by the name of Easy Street Records in the Queen Anne neighborhood. Sadly when I was back in Seattle this past May that store was gone but the store on California Avenue is still alive and well.

While shopping at Easy Street I came across a listening station that featured local music. One of the bands I listened to was a band by the name of Hotels and the name of the album I listened to was Where Hearts Go Broke.

The band had a cool sound, a mix of shoegaze, new wave, surf and dream pop. While the band did not create anything I would say was absolutely original, I was intrigued by the sound, particularly the interplay of the work on the bass and the keyboards. The vocals had a slight echo effect to them and in some ways brought to mind the style of Ian Curtis from Joy Division. I dug it and bought the disc.

The fact I am up to the letter H on this current theme inspired me to play this album for the first time in a few years. I forgot how much I liked it! The band is still alive and well, having released Cinemascope III December 2013. Check out one of the tracks from Where Hearts Go Broke, “Cafe Martinique”.

Cheers!

Album Inspiration: Where Hearts Go Broke

Leave a Reply

