E is for Echo and the Bunnymen

Echo and the Bunnymen
Ian McCulloch, the vocalist and front man for Echo and the Bunnymen stated when the band’s fourth album Ocean Rain was released in 1984 that it was “the greatest album ever made”. This year celebrates the 30th anniversary of the release of that disc and I still agree with Sir Mac. I truly do believe this is the greatest album ever recorded.

It took a few years for me to 100% get into what The Bunnymen were creating but once I did I went back and collected all of the band’s back catalog. The band’s first four album output of Crocodiles, Heaven Up Here, Porcupine and Ocean Rain in my opinion still ranks as the greatest opening four album run in music history. Yes, a bold statement but I feel very strongly about that, due in large part to my feelings about the band’s third and fourth albums.

Echo and the Bunnymen released a new album by the name of Meterorites this year. Once again I tried to get into a new disc from The Bunnymen but to this day nothing from the band has really excited me since the fifth album Echo and the Bunnymen was released in 1987. Ian McCulloch quit the band in 1988 and drummer Pete de Freitas was killed in a motorcycle accident in 1989. Pete’s passing in my opinion was the true end of the band. His work on percussion was incredible and along with bassist Les Pattinson formed one of rock’s all-time best rhythm sections. Guitarist Will Sergeant completed the original line-up for my second favorite band of all-time. I am fortunate that I had a chance to see them in concert twice, once as part of an incredible line-up that included New Order and Gene Loves Jezebel at Compton Terrace, then less than one year later headlining a concert at Mesa Amphitheatre. Both shows were truly epic experiences.

That magic may be gone in my opinion but we have the band’s phenomenal past releases to still remind us what dynamite music is supposed to sound like. Check out “The Killing Moon”, my favorite song from  “the greatest album ever made”.

Cheers!

Album Inspiration: Ocean Rain

 

Leave a Reply

