The Tfronky Pick of the Week – The Fratellis

The Fratellis at the 2008 Monolith Festival

Whoa. The Fratellis have a new album out! I saw this band back in September 2008 at the second Monolith Festival at Red Rocks Amphitheatre. Yep, the Red Rocks in Morrison, Colorado where that famous U2 video was filmed. Monolith was a great festival that unfortunately only lasted for three years. I was fortunate enough to attend the first two events.

The Fratellis played the first day of the festival in 2008. I hate to say that I had never heard the band, other than checking them out briefly on the Monolith site a few weeks before heading to Colorado. Wow, was I impressed with their show! This Glasgow, Scotland indie rock band played a fantastic, frenetic set on the main stage of the festival. Their songs were lots of fun, loaded with pop hooks and even though I was not at all familiar with their songs it was easy to sing-a-long to songs such as “Chelsea Dagger”. Within a week after I returned home I had both album from the band, Costello Music and Here We Stand in my hands.

July 2009 the band went on a self-imposed “indefinite hiatus” but announced in June 2012 they were coming back. The third album from The Fratellis We Need Medicine just hit the shelves October 7th of this year. So stoked this great band is back!

Here is s snippet of the band wailing on “Mistress Mabel” from Here We Stand at Monolith. Enjoy.

Cheers!

3 comments

  1. jprobichaud · October 24, 2013

    I, too, saw The Fratellis in 2008. They played day one of the now defunct V fest in Toronto that year and I got a very different impression of their live performance. I was already familiar with their upbeat raggedy power pop. Unfortunately, they took the stage after a revitalizing set by Spiritualized. The letdown was palpable.

    • tfronky · October 26, 2013

      Bummer when a band disappoints you like that; tough though when a band follows a great set. Best example for me; twice now that I have seen A Place to Bury Strangers here in Phoenix opening for another band and had to leave just a few songs into the other band’s set because it was pointless after watching APTBS destroy.

      • jprobichaud · October 26, 2013

        Context is everything.

Leave a Reply

