The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Snowden

Snowden

Back in 2008 I attended the second Monolith Festival at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, Colorado. Bummer that the festival was only around for three years but I did get to go to the first two. Those were two great weekends and both years I discovered a lot of great bands that I had not heard of before. Snowden from Atlanta, Georgia was a band I had a chance to catch a brief glimpse of on the second day of the event in 2008 around 2:00pm.

The Monolith Festival had five stages and as many as three would have performances at the same time, so it was a constant case of me moving from one stage to the next so I could see as many bands as possible. During that Sunday I saw Jukebox the Ghost, The Pomegranates, Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, Band of Horses, TV on the Radio and Justice (who SUCKS!) for the first time, plus Tokyo Police Club. A great day. Add the fact I saw Snowden for the first time that day and you have the formula for one unbelievable day of music.

Unfortunately I only had a chance to see two, maybe three songs from the band so I could get to another stage, but what little I saw coerced me to buy the band’s debut full length 2006 release Anti-Anti. I was blown away with what I heard once I had a chance to immerse myself in that disc. Anti-Anti is a powerful, punishing and incredibly engaging piece of work.

Snowden is the moniker for singer/songwriter/vocalist/guitarist Jordan Jeffares. This artist and this band should be huge in my opinion, but I really believe the complex nature of the songwriting and intricate musicianship in the songs are what keep Snowden from being the mainstream monster it should be. This is not cheesy bubblegum pop my friends, Snowden creates thought-provoking music that overwhelms the senses at times. This band is so good it is almost frightening.

The band’s sophomore full-length No One in Control was released on May 14th of this year, seven years since the debut full-length and three years since the Slow Soft Syrup EP. Yeah it has been a long wait but Snowden it worthwhile. This album is going to end up somewhere on my Top Ten Albums list for 2013, guaranteed. Check it out when you get a chance. For now, do yourself a favor and watch the video for “So Red”, the second track from No One in Control. Stunning.

Since I feel generous today here is my favorite track from Anti-Anti, “Stop Your Bleeding”. This is an amazing example of what pure power meshed with a barrage of pop hooks can create. The break at the 2:14 mark of the song is unbelievable.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

