The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Frightened Rabbit

Frightened Rabbit
Hello everybody,

I have no problem admitting when I show up late to the party in terms of acknowledging a great band. Frightened Rabbit is a band that showed up on one of the many mix CDs Robert Lerma from The Father Figures has made for me over the years. I cannot remember the full track listing but I do remember there were several bands that made even bigger impressions on me at that time, so while I liked the Frightened Rabbit tracks they kind of were put on the back burner compared to the rest of the disc.

What changed my opinion about things was after seeing Source Victoria play for the first time back in 2010. Not only did I find out front man Brendan Murphy is a fan but his brother Kevin Murphy is as well, and after reading Kevin’s excellent blog So Much Silence and all his raves about Frightened Rabbit I had to give them another shot. This is when the band’s third full-length album The Winter of Mixed Drinks was released, an album I really enjoyed and ending up ranking #6 on my 2010 year-end list for Stinkweeds Records.

However, at that point I was still a bigger fan of fellow Fat Cat artists We Were Promised Jetpacks and The Twilight Sad. Frightened Rabbit has now moved to Atlantic Records and released its fourth full-length album Pedestrian Verse in February. I liked 2008’s Midnight Organ Fight, the favorite of many fans and critics, but for me Pedestrian Verse is my favorite. This album is absolutely mind-blowing.

Check out the Stinkweeds review page for my thoughts on the new album. Right now though check out the official video for my favorite song from Pedestrian Verse, “Backyard Skulls”. When I interviewed Brendan Murphy from Source Victoria for this blog back in 2011 we talked about our feelings where the best song on the album is placed and I always like it to be track two.

Yep, “Backyard Skulls” is the second track on the album. 🙂 By the way, Source plays this Saturday at the Yucca Tap Room. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

