The Tfronky Pick of the Week – The Au Pairs

Urgh! A Music War

Earlier today I stopped by Bobby Lerma’s office to grab a CD that had been burned for me a couple of weeks ago. Much grass to Chris Burch for getting me a copy of Urgh! A Music War, a disc/album/cassette that I have been trying to find for eons. Urgh was a concert movie filmed in 1980 of various new wave, post punk and punk rock bands. I owned the original 27 song double album years ago and like a lot of my old vinyl that disc went the way of the buffalo many years ago. Back when we were kids my friends and I loaned each other albums all the time and some just never made their way back to me. Tragic.

As much as I wanted this album back in my collection the absurd prices I have seen on ebay for it made me say “no bueno”. Naturally Burch had a copy of it because as anyone in the Sunnyslope Crew knows, Burch, Lerma and Wayne Barnes are the three true music aficionados from the clan. Some of my all-time favorite bands including Echo and the Bunnymen, Gang of Four, X and XTC contribute some killer live performances to this album.

I absolutely love a track from one of the lesser-known post punk bands in the movie, The Au Pairs from the U.K. The song this band played in the film was “Come Again” and I remember laughing the first time I saw the movie and heard lead singer Lesley Woods introduce the song by saying “this song is about faking orgasms.” In my defense I was still in grade school at the time, but to be honest I still laugh today.

Here is the video from Urgh! A Music War for “Come Again” from The Au Pairs. Eighties music was so much better than the majority of shit created today …

Cheers!
Frank

3 comments

  1. Dave Marsh · February 11, 2013

    Great Musings, Frank. Where on earth did you dig up that video? Did YouTube really have it? It’s terrific! Would really like to hear the whole album some time.

  2. John Enk · February 11, 2013

    “Much grass”
    Really Frank, are things that tough in Arizona?
    Muchos gracias!
    Juan

  3. Ed Arnaud · February 18, 2013

    I had the double vinyl album also. I think I bought it in 1981. I’m not sure what happened to it. Probably loaned it to a friend. This great album introduced me to bands I had never even heard of. The Au Pairs being one of them.

Leave a Reply

