The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Interpol

Interpol

Damnit I miss this band. Interpol are in the midst of a hiatus, one they have been on since 2011 after performing at the Reading and Leeds Festivals in the U.K. Another recommendation from Bobby Lerma that proved to be an awesome pick, Interpol was part of the post punk revival that occurred in the U.S. back in the late nineties and early 2000’s. When Bobby had me put the band’s debut full length Turn on the Bright Lights in my player at the office when it was first released more than a decade ago and asked me whom the band reminded me of, I immediately said, “The Chameleons with Ian Curtis from Joy Division singing.” I was on the money because several music critics made similar statements.

I just recently wrote a review of the reissue of Turn on the Bright Lights that should appear on the Stinkweeds site soon. The reissue was one of my Top Ten picks for 2012 in the book that Stinkweeds releases every year. Doing the recent review caused me to listen to that album a lot, confirming my long-time view that Turn on the Bright Lights is one of my favorite debut albums.

Check out the lead track from the album “Untitled”. Yes, that is the name of the song. Deal with it because this song is incredible.

Now an actual video from the band. I recorded this when the band last played in the Valley February 5, 2011 at the Marquee Theater. A band this great can overcome the shitiness of one of my least favorite venues in town. “Not Even Jail” is my favorite song from Interpol off the band’s sophomore release Antics. The video quality is horrible but the audio is spectacular.

Hope you enjoyed. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

