The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Mighty Lemon Drops

Mighty Lemon Drops

Hello everybody,

I love when I put old mix CDs I created in my case for the car because many times I come across a band I love that I hadn’t listened to in a while. The sweet Britpop/post punk sounds of one of my all-time favorite bands, The Mighty Lemon Drops was the band of choice yesterday. The video for “Out of Hand” I discovered watching MTV’s 120 Minutes one Sunday evening. Remember when that station actually showed videos?

The Mighty Lemon Drops added a bit of psychedelia to their mix, creating a very simple yet very engaging style of music. The band’s debut Happy Head ranks #15 on my all-time list for debut albums and their sophomore effort World Without End #31 in regards to Top 40 Albums at the age of 40. The studio output from the Mighty Lemon Drops was amazing, live they were even better. I saw them at least three times, including at one of those old-school music festivals here in Arizona (Q-Fest possibly?). My sister was a huge fan as well and a couple of the shows we saw together, plus we blew it on one occasion when the band opened for Love and Rockets and that band’s alter-ego The Bubblemen. We showed up late to Mesa Amphitheatre, missed the Mighty Lemon Drops and left just a few songs into the set from Love and Rockets in disgust.

“Out of Hand” was the title track on the band’s 1987 EP that was released in between those two albums. This song is completely chock full of pop hooks galore, an outstanding representation of just how great music from the eighties was. Horrible video, amazing song, enjoy!

Cheers!
Frank

4 comments

  1. Doug · November 19, 2012

    Frank, you’re making me wish I would have busted out my old Lemon Drops, Laughter cd. Where do we go from Heaven is one of my all time favorite tunes from my early college says. Saw these guys at, of course, First Avenue in 90 or 91. Great show! Thanks for the flashback!!!

    • tfronky · November 19, 2012

      I think it’s awesome we have such similar tastes in music Doug. It doesn’t surprise me at all that you like these guys since you like Mould as well. I love the Lemon Drops, all three (maybe four, can’t remember) times I saw them they simply smoked. I haven’t listened to Laughter in a very long time, need to pull that out as well. Thanks for commenting once again!

  2. Dave Marsh · November 19, 2012

    Checked them out, great stuff!

  3. Pingback: M is for Mighty Lemon Drops | The Musings of Frank Gallardo

Leave a Reply

