The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Bob Mould

Bob Mould live at the First Avenue 9-15-2012Hello everybody,

Considering I board a plane this coming Saturday to see the Bob Mould Band perform live at the First Avenue in Minneapolis it only makes sense this week’s Tfronky Pick of the Week would be Bob Mould. Elbow may be my favorite band but even that incredible group has not reached god status in my book. How many artists can be one of the lead singers and guitarist for Husker Du, release two very good solo albums when that group broke up, form in my opinion one of rock and roll’s all-time greatest bands in 1992 when Sugar was born, dabble in electronica and continue to DJ in Blowoff and Distortion+, plus release eight solo albums with the latest being Silver Age released just one week ago?

Yep, in my opinion this man has reached godhead status and people are FINALLY starting to take notice. A whole new generation of alt rock fans were introduced to this man in 2011 when he made a guest appearance on Wasting Light, the excellent latest release from the Foo Fighters. Mould’s latest release Silver Age is a brilliant return to the incendiary work on the guitar this man is well-known for and already is my favorite solo piece of work this artist has released. In fact, I feel Silver Age is Mould’s best release since the last Sugar album File Under: Easy Listening from all the way back in 1994.

Yes folks, the new album is that good. The show this coming Saturday is part of the Copper Blue/Silver Age tour Mould and band mates bassist Jason Narducy (ex-Verbow) and drummer Jon Wurster (ex-Superchunk) are in the midst of worldwide. To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the release of Copper Blue the first set of the concert will feature the band playing that album in its entirety. A brief break then the band will return to play some selections from Silver Age as well as some Husker Du classics. Click this link to see a set list from a recent September 7 show. I nearly s___ myself when I read the song selections.

For today’s video entertainment I give you my favorite Copper Blue song, the lead track “The Act We Act”, along with both the official video and a live performance on David Letterman from September 4 of “The Descent”.

My goal in life to be as cool as Bob Mould when I am 51. Thanks to my buddy Duane in Minneapolis for sending me the Copper Blue/Silver Age flyer, right off the wall from First Avenue! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

