The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Sinead O’Connor

Sinead O'Connor - The Lion and the Cobra
Why Sinead? The question should be “why not?”

I fully agree, she screwed up in an enormous way on Saturday Night Live years ago. I think we have forgiven celebrities for much worse folks (Michael Jackson, Lindsay Lohan anyone?). As an individual that was raised Catholic I will admit what happened on SNL made me cringe thinking, “oh, you just ended your career girl” but today what happened on that show does not offend me.

Whether you agree with her religious and political views the fact remains (at least to me) that her first two albums were utterly brilliant. 1990’s I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got may have been Sinead O’Connor‘s breakthrough album here in the U.S. but to me her debutThe Lion and the Cobra still stands out as her watershed album. This album was both beautiful and ferocious at the same time, an amazing piece of work.

Here is the first video “Troy” from that debut album. 25 years later it is still tremendous.

Cheers,
Frank

Leave a Reply

