The Tfronky Pick of the Week – Dead Can Dance

Dead Can Dance 2012

Elbow and Echo and the Bunnymen are my two all-time favorite bands and I have seen both bands twice. I have seen The Ramones with Dee Dee on bass, REM during the I.R.S. Records years, U2 on the tour for The Unforgettable Fire, The Pixies during their original run and once they reunited, and Sir Paul McCartney performing to three generations of fans at Coachella 2009. However, this coming Sunday, August 19 may be my all-time most anticipated concert, a duo that I was convinced years ago once they split up that I would never have a chance to see perform live. Last year when rumors started to swirl that Dead Can Dance was not only going to reunite but record new material for the first time since 1996 I was cautiously optimistic. When those rumors were confirmed late 2011 I realized a long-time dream was actually going to come true.

Most bands I can categorize. You cannot logically do that with Dead Can Dance because they can play any type of music incredibly well. DCD is the creation of Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard, a duo that can deliver stunning World music, eclectic new age, subdued Britpop, Gregorian Chant and even a unique style of post-punk. I started listening to the band in 1987, the year my favorite album from the duo Within the Realm of a Dying Sun was released. A compilation tape that had three DCD tracks on it made for me by Father Figures drummer Bobby Lerma, plus a killer 4AD compilation album by the name of Lonely is an Eyesore convinced me to check out a full album. Once I played Dying Sun for the first time I was sold.

I cannot believe they are back together and I can’t believe I am seeing them just six days from today. I can die a happy man the moment that show is over folks. For the uninitiated, here is a clip from The West Wing featuring one of Dead Can Dance’s most stunning songs “Sanvean”, showcasing Lisa Gerrard’s beautiful vocal delivery.

Now here is the same song from Dead Can Dance’s legendary November 1993 concert at the Mayfair Theatre in Santa Monica, California. This concert can be found on the Toward the Within CD from the band, an absolutely essential piece of work. “Sanvean” commences at the 2:35 point of this video but be sure to watch the whole thing. The interview with Lisa Gerrard is definitely not something to be missed.

I am SOOOOOOOOOOOO STOKED for this concert folks! Cheers!
Frank

5 comments

  1. davejonmarsh · August 13, 2012

    Here’s hoping you won’t actually die after the concert! I can understand your excitement and enthusiasm and look forward to hearing all about it when you get home.

  2. Bob Dean · August 13, 2012

    Great review Frank, I can’t wait for the concert here in San Diego.

  3. silver price · August 30, 2012

    The story of the duo Dead Can Dance begins in the duo’s home country of Australia. It was there that Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard met through other musical endeavors. By the early 1980s, they were beginning to solidify their one-of-a-kind sound. Before long, throngs were showing up for all of the Dead Can Dance concert dates. Today isn’t much different, because concert tickets to their shows remain popular.

  4. Pingback: D is for Dead Can Dance | The Musings of Frank Gallardo
  5. Pingback: I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want Dead Can Dance to play my birthday party | The Musings of Frank Gallardo

Leave a Reply

