Whining is the Offspring of Futility – in music form

Ron PrattHello everybody,

It has been seven years since my best friend passed away, an incredible gentleman by the name of Ron Pratt. I met Ron when I was 16 years old while working at Organ Stop Pizza in Phoenix on 7th Street and Missouri. That was my first real job and although there were plenty of times I hated it the experience was fantastic. Ron became the guest vocalist on weekends there the summer of 1985. I miss that place, a classic Phoenix landmark that closed in 1987.

I am not going to go into all the details why our friendship became so important to me. I will share this; Ron did not have children of his own and I became the son he and his wonderful wife Marsha never had. Ron was the presence in my high school and early college years that I can honestly say saved my life. He kept me on the straight and narrow and was always available to talk to when my fucked-up immature mind started to spin out of control, which was a constant back then. If you want specifics meet me for a cup of coffee someday and I will be happy to share some with you.

Ron tragically and unexpectedly passed away on May 24, 2005 while out-of-town in Ohio. That day happened to be the last day of school when I was working at Cortez High School. I got the call in between first and second hour and had to figure out a way to get through two more periods of finals without losing it. Somehow I managed to stay composed for the kids’ sake but the rest of that week I was an absolute mess. I was told after the service a few days later I delivered a wonderful message about him. I don’t remember a word I said that day.

Just over five months later I suffered a heart attack during the third day of wrestling season on November 2. Part of me was glad Ron was gone and did not have to watch me go through that, but a bigger part of me wished he was around to help me with the physical and mental recovery process. One thing I knew when this happened; I was not about to waste time feeling sorry for myself, I needed to do the next thing in front of me in order to recover, and for me music has always been a source of motivation and inspiration even though the only instrument I could play was the trumpet from my grade school days.

I decided to compile my favorite songs from the first 36 years of my life to that point from every genre of music I enjoyed. I have always enjoyed putting together mix tapes for people but this one was just for me. I wanted it to be perfect, I wanted it to be organized and I wanted the first song from each disc to be a song Ron did. You see, Ron made four tapes for me over the years and Marsha was able to transfer those cassettes to CD for me. I treasure those compact discs and I was grateful to be able to include my best friend’s work on the mix discs I made. After a Ron Pratt tune the songs were arranged in this order:

  • Eighties
  • Punk Rock
  • Rock and Roll (trust me, I defined this very loosely)
  • Mellow
  • Nineties into the Millenium
  • Britpop / Shoegaze
  • Classical / Comedy

Here are the track listings for each disc. There are 13 total discs which was not intentional, things just worked out that way. Also, while the genres are in specific order, the songs are not, so just because a song was on disc 13 does not mean it was an afterthought. I just grabbed CDs and made the compilation. I foresee a very cool playlist being created on my iPod but love the old-school CD format as well. Enjoy or don’t, in this instance I don’t care. Creating these discs was incredibly healing mentally for me and to this day listening to them has a very positive effect. By the way, “The End” from The Doors is only omitted because of the philosophy behind these discs. That really is one of my all-time faves. And looking back at this now how the heck did I forget “New Year’s Day” from U2???

Oh well. Without further adieu …

VOLUME I

  1. Ron Pratt – I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  2. XTC – Dear God
  3. M.I.A. (the classic punk band, not that piece of shit female rapper) – Modern Way
  4. Sebadoh – Got It
  5. Phil Collins – In the Air Tonight
  6. Interpol – Not Even Jail
  7. The House of Love – I Don’t Know Why I Love You
  8. Basil Poledouris – Anvil of Crom (from the Conan the Barbarian soundtrack)
  9. R.E.M. – Feeling Gravity’s Pull
  10. Black Flag – Rise Above
  11. The Posies – Solar Sister
  12. Dead Can Dance – In the Wake of Adversity
  13. Jets to Brazil – Chinatown
  14. Kitchens of Distinction – Margaret’s Injection
  15. Dane Cook – The Friend Nobody Likes
  16. The Smiths – How Soon is Now?
  17. The Vandals – Urban Struggle
  18. Foo Fighters – My Hero

VOLUME II

  1. Ron Pratt – Mack the Knife
  2. Peter Gabriel – In Your Eyes
  3. Juno – Leave a Clean Camp and a Dead Fire
  4. Chapterhouse – Greater Power
  5. Lords of the New Church – Open Your Eyes
  6. Suicidal Tendencies – Institutionalized
  7. Dead Hot Workshop – Last Train Ride
  8. Genesis – Mama
  9. Flaming Lips – Do You Realize?
  10. Radiohead – Paranoid Android
  11. Andrew Dice Clay – Milk and Shampoo
  12. Clan of Xymox – Muscoviet Mosquito
  13. Bad Brains – I Against I
  14. Nada Surf – Always Love
  15. Joy Division – Atmosphere
  16. Helmet – Bad Mood

VOLUME III

  1. Ron Pratt – On a Clear Day
  2. Swervedriver – Volcano Trash
  3. Echo and the Bunnymen – In Bluer Skies
  4. China White – Live in Your Eyes
  5. 40 Watt Las Vegas – Navigating by Stars
  6. Dave Matthews Band – Crash Into Me
  7. Hey Mercedes – The Frowning of a Lifetime
  8. Doves – Rise
  9. Howard Shore – The Urak-Hai (from The Two Towers soundtrack)
  10. The Chameleons – Second Skin
  11. Agent Orange – Bite the Hand that Feeds pt. 2
  12. Sugar – Tilted
  13. The Sundays – Wild Horses
  14. The Appleseed Cast – Forever Longing the Golden Sunsets
  15. Catherine Wheel – Black Metallic
  16. Dane Cook – Legacy
  17. Violent Femmes – Kiss Off
  18. The Ramones – Carbona Not Glue

VOLUME IV

  1. Ron Pratt – New York, New York
  2. Rollins Band – Low Self Opinion (live)
  3. The Cure – Pictures of You
  4. Bob Mould – I Hate Alternative Rock
  5. U2 – I Will Follow
  6. Oingo Boingo – Dead Man’s Party
  7. Social Distortion – Another State of Mind
  8. Fish Karma – God is a Groovy Guy
  9. Sting – Be Still My Beating Heart
  10. Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Bellbottoms
  11. Electronic – Disappointed
  12. Howard Shore – The Bridge Of Khazad Dum (from The Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack)
  13. Breathless – Let’s Make a Night Of It
  14. Symbol Six – Symbol Six
  15. The Kinks – Destroyer
  16. Prince and The Revolution – Darling Nikki

VOLUME V

  1. Ron Pratt – Climb Ev’ry Mountain
  2. Orbit – Medicine
  3. Coldplay – Daylight (live)
  4. The Cure – Charlotte Sometimes
  5. SSD – Glue
  6. Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy – Television, the Drug of a Nation
  7. Bob Marley and the Wailers – No Woman, No Cry (live)
  8. Juno – Venus on 9th Street
  9. The Stone Roses – She Bangs on the Drums
  10. Dane Cook – Struck by a Vehicle
  11. New Model Army – White Coats
  12. Agent Orange – Voices (In the Night)
  13. Public Enemy – Welcome to the Terrordome
  14. Roxy Music – Avalon
  15. Face to Face – In Harm’s Way
  16. Oasis – Live Forever
  17. Yo Yo Ma – Prélude from Suite No. 1 in G Major for Cello, BWV 1007 (Bach)

VOLUME VI

  1. Ron Pratt – Love Means You Never Have to Say You’re Sorry
  2. Psychedelic Furs – Love My Way
  3. Minor Threat – Straight Edge
  4. Led Zeppelin – Rock and Roll
  5. Janet Jackson – Rhythm Nation
  6. No Knife – Angel Bomb
  7. Swervedriver – For Seeking Heat
  8. Dane Cook – At The Wall
  9. The Smithereens – Behind the Wall of Sleep
  10. Shattered Faith – Short Haired Thugs
  11. Asia – Heat of the Moment
  12. The Smiths – I Know it’s Over
  13. Rage Against the Machine – The Ghost of Tom Joad (despise these pricks now)
  14. Echo and the Bunnymen – The Killing Moon (All Night Long mix)
  15. Howard Shore – The Breaking of the Fellowship (from The Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack)

VOLUME VII

  1. Ron Pratt – The Days of Wine and Roses
  2. Modern English – I Melt With You
  3. The Ramones – Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment
  4. Rollins Band – Liar
  5. Dead Can Dance – American Dreaming (live)
  6. Juno – The French Letter
  7. New Order – Fine Time
  8. Andrew Dice Clay – Pizza
  9. The Payola$ – Eyes of a Stranger
  10. Gang Green – Sold Out
  11. Joan Jett and the Blackhearts – Bad Reputation
  12. Berlin – Take My Breath Away
  13. Sunny Day Real Estate – In Circles
  14. Talk Talk – It’s My Life
  15. Howard Shore – Isengard Unleashed (from The Two Towers soundtrack)
  16. Guadalcanal Diary – Fear of God
  17. Agent Orange – Bloodstains (Darkness version)
  18. The Tellers – Let it Be (live)
  19. Lou Rawls – You’ll Never Find

VOLUME VIII

  1. Ron Pratt – Let There be Peace on Earth
  2. Interpol – NYC
  3. Echo and the Bunnymen – All My Colours
  4. Wire – Ahead
  5. Black Flag – Six Pack (Damaged version)
  6. Slayer – Angel of Death
  7. Dead Can Dance – Mother Tongue
  8. Nirvana – Come as You Are
  9. The Jam – Dreamtime
  10. Howard Shore – The White Tree (from The Return of the King soundtrack)
  11. Bauhaus – Bela Lugosi’s Dead
  12. The Damned – Nasty
  13. Journey – Only the Young
  14. Swervedriver – Duel
  15. Juno – Killing it in a Quiet Way
  16. New Order – The Perfect Kiss
  17. Dane Cook – The Nothing Fight

VOLUME IX

  1. Ron Pratt – Who Can I Turn To?
  2. Big Country -1000 Stars (live)
  3. Sex Pistols – Bodies
  4. Midnight Oil – Shipyards of New Zealand
  5. Folk Implosion – Natural One
  6. Throwing Muses – Hook in Her Head (more Sound Strike fuckers)
  7. My Bloody Valentine – Only Shallow
  8. Howard Shore – Foundations of Stone (from The Two Towers soundtrack)
  9. Gang of Four – To Hell With Poverty
  10. SNFU – Bodies in the Wall
  11. Rage Against the Machine – Bulls on Parade (more from these fuckers)
  12. Dead Can Dance – Black Sun
  13. Swervedriver – Zedhead
  14. The Cure – Just Like Heaven
  15. Howard Shore – The Riders of Rohan (from The Two Towers soundtrack)
  16. Siouxsie and the Banshees – Arabian Knights
  17. TSOL – Code Blue
  18. Jay Z – 99 Problems
  19. Sinead O’Connor – Troy

VOLUME X

  1. Ron Pratt – How Great Thou Art?
  2. Gin Blossoms – Found Out About You (Dusted version)
  3. A Flock of Seagulls – Space Age Love Song
  4. REM – Pretty Persuasion
  5. Bad Religion – Faith in God
  6. Helmet – Milquetoast
  7. Clan of Xymox – Medusa
  8. Rage Against the Machine – Down Rodeo
  9. Squeeze – Annie Get Your Gun
  10. Howard Shore – Treebeard (from The Two Towers soundtrack)
  11. Gang of Four – He’d Send in the Army
  12. Social Distortion – Mass Hysteria
  13. Queen and David Bowie – Under Pressure
  14. The Specials – Ghost Town
  15. Nine Inch Nails – March of the Pigs (another Sound Strike piece of shit)
  16. The Fixx – Stand or Fall
  17. Howard Shore – Hope and Memory (from The Return of the King soundtrack)
  18. Love and Rockets – Mirror People 88
  19. The Buzzcocks – What Do I Get?
  20. The Police – Don’t Stand So Close To Me
  21. Sebadoh – On Fire

VOLUME XI

  1. Ron Pratt – Edelweiss
  2. Nirvana – Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
  3. Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Relax
  4. The Church – Under the Milky Way
  5. TSOL – Superficial Love
  6. Reverend Horton Heat – Pride of San Jacinto
  7. Peter Murphy – All Night Long
  8. Magnapop – Lay it Down
  9. Orchestral Maneuvers in the Dark – So in Love
  10. Howard Shore – Minas Tirith (from The Return of the King soundtrack)
  11. Jesus and Mary Chain – Happy When it Rains
  12. Husker Du – Could You be the One?
  13. Grandmaster Flash – White Lines
  14. Double – The Captain of her Heart
  15. Helmet – Unsung
  16. Real Life – Send me an Angel
  17. Romeo Void – Never Say Never
  18. Mission of Burma – That’s When I Reach for my Revolver
  19. Talking Heads – Psycho Killer (live)

VOLUME XII

  1. Ron Pratt – I Made it Through the Rain
  2. The Smiths – Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
  3. Swervedriver – Son of Mustang Ford
  4. XTC – Respectable Street
  5. Red Rockers – China
  6. Joe Strummer – Love Kills (from the Sid and Nancy soundtrack)
  7. Slayer – War Ensemble
  8. Cheap Trick – Tonight It’s You
  9. Rage Against the Machine – Tire Me (damn didn’t realize I had so many songs from these pricks)
  10. Simple Minds – Waterfront
  11. Howard Shore – Ash and Smoke (from The Return of the King soundtrack)
  12. The B-52’s – Rock Lobster
  13. Face to Face – Questions Still Remain
  14. The Police – Every Little Things She Does is Magic
  15. The Stranglers – European Female
  16. Kitchens of Distinction – Railwayed
  17. Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Two Tribes
  18. Howard Shore / Enya – The Council of Elrond featuring Aniron (Theme for Aragorn and Arwen) (from The Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack)
  19. Hoodoo Gurus – I Want You Back

VOLUME XIII

  1. Ron Pratt – The River
  2. The Ramones – Teenage Lobotomy
  3. Iron Butterfly – In a Gadda da Vida
  4. The Ocean Blue – Ballerina out of Control
  5. Juliana Hatfield Three – Spin the Bottle
  6. Depeche Mode – Everything Counts
  7. Gang of Four – What We All Want (live)
  8. Minor Threat – Little Friend
  9. Blondie – Dreaming
  10. U2 – With or Without You
  11. Sebadoh – Dramamine
  12. Mighty Lemon Drops – Out of Hand (extended version)
  13. Howard Shore – The Ring Goes South (from The Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack)
  14. REM – Driver 8
  15. Iggy Pop – Repo Man
  16. Metallica – Damage Inc.
  17. Pete Townsend – Let My Love Open the Door
9 comments

  1. davejonmarsh · May 24, 2012

    My favorite tracks are the ones that Ron did for you, Frank. Your eloquent and touching remembrance of him reminds me that I need to cherish my best friend even more, too. The people you love make you the person you are. I will pull out my CDs and listen again. And focus on what is really important in life.

  2. davejonmarsh · May 24, 2012

    You wrote an eloquent and touching remembrance of your friend, Frank. It reminds me that I need to cherish my best friend even more. The people you love make you the person you are. I will listen again to my CDs of this music and keep in mind what is really important in life.

  3. jprobichaud · May 25, 2012

    Wow! Those are some crazy mixes! So many good tunes….

    • tfronky · May 25, 2012

      Thank you! I love mix tapes/CDs and it’s fun when the genres are all over the place to keep things interesting.

  4. Pingback: A new style to the Musings | The Musings of Frank Gallardo
  5. FatterFinger · June 27, 2012

    I have these, they’re awesome…need to dig ’em out again!!

    • tfronky · June 27, 2012

      Thanks brother, you were the first to have them!

  6. Pingback: The Bungalow Show on RadioPhoenix.org Halloween 2014 | The Musings of Frank Gallardo
  7. Pingback: I just saved Brooke Shields from drowning so I want Dead Can Dance to play my birthday party | The Musings of Frank Gallardo

Leave a Reply

