Concert for the month of July 2011 in the Valley of the Sun

Icehouse Tavern 7-16-2011Missed me? I have not written a post since May 6, pretty pathetic when you think about it. I have been swamped with content writing work for other sites so the personal blog had to take a back seat. The problem is I lost focus on what brings me the most pleasure – music. I have not been to a show in ages and have not picked up a lot of music lately. That needs to change.

It is the mid-point of the month but there are a number of shows coming up that I hope to see, starting tonight. We have some new venues here in town folks, including Foundry on First and the Crescent Ballroom. It may be the dog days of summer but there are plenty of great shows coming up.

Foundry on First 7-15-2011Friday July 15 – The Love Me Nots, The Persuaders and Jed’s a Millionaire – Foundry on First. Huge fan of the 60s-style garage rock from the Love Me Nots! I grew up on the classic Desert Rock of the late 80s-early 90s from Tempe, so I am stoked about The Persuaders, a “supergroup” of sorts featuring former members from Dead Hot Workshop, The Feedbags, Gin Blossoms, Live Nudes, The Pistoleros and Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers.

Friday July 15 – Snake! Snake! Snakes!, Boys and Frogs, Milo the Mayor and Seaworthy Vessels  – Yucca Tap Room. I am kind of anxious for some new Snake! Snake! Snakes! material after their fabulous debut EP from last year. If you do not go to the Love Me Nots show this another good option. Plus, another free Yucca Tap Room show!

Saturday July 16 – Robot Tank, The Father Figures, Asses of EvilIcehouse Tavern. This show is my Silver Platter Pick of the Week for July 11-17, so just click the link I provided for information about the show. The Father Figures will be playing almost all new material. GO!

Saturday July 16 – Reverend Horton Heat and Swingin’ UttersMarquee Theatre. Any other night I would probably be at this show. I saw the Reverend for the first time in years last August and as always they never disappoint. This is ass-kicking rock and roll and psychobilly at its best. I just hope the posers don’t start another mosh pit like last year. Idiots.

Saturday July 16 – Autumn’s EndThe Clubhouse. This happens way too often in the Valley, three shows I want to go to on the same evening. Metalheads NEED to head over to The Clubhouse this evening and see Autumn’s End. The band has been hard at work on a new recording which is sure to make your ears bleed (that’s good by the way). The band goes on around 10pm and are playing as part of the Rotten Records Showcase.

Tuesday July 19 – IceageYellow Canary Dance Hall. Score another winning pick from The Bob of The Father Figures! Iceage is a quartet of kids from Denmark that deliver some monster punk influenced indie rock. I am stoked for this show! Plus, I have never seen a show at this venue and the cover is a mere $5.

Yucca Tap Room 7-22-2011Friday July 22 – Source Victoria, Ladylike and Rescue Lights – Yucca Tap Room. Source has a single coming out soon for a track they have been playing for a while at their shows. It is entitled “Once I’m Dead”, come out and see them with two other great bands.

Thursday July 28 – Courtney Marie AndrewsRhythm Room. If you have a copy of Invented, the 2010 release from Jimmy Eat World, you have heard the wonderful voice of Courtney Marie Andrews. Her vocal stylings are a perfect match for the intimacy of the Rhythm Room.

Please let me know if I need to add anything. And if you don’t have the new Fleet Foxes, TV on the Radio and Cars discs, you need to get them.

Leave a Reply

