Concerts in the Valley of the Sun for the month of November

Hello everybody,

I could easily blow off going to another concert this year after the two shows I attended in October, The Two Towers live at Radio City Music Hall October 8 and The National at the Marquee Theatre October 14. But we know that’s not going to happen …

Heck, this weekend alone there are two great shows from local bands! Here is the November Tfronky concert list:

Mill's End at the Paisley Violin 11-5-2010Friday November 5 – Mill’s EndPaisley Violin. Due to the work I do updating SilverPlatter.info, I have posted about Mill’s End on a number of occasions. This show is the first time I will actually get a chance to see them, and as part of First Friday! I have listened to some of their material online and really enjoy the style of Americana they deliver. It should be a good time. Opening the show will be Dead River Review and Brent Miles.

Source Victoria at the Icehouse Tavern 11-6-2010Saturday November 6 – Source VictoriaIcehouse Tavern. I missed Source the last time they played because I was watching The Father Figures destroy at Hollywood Alley. I won’t miss this show because I am dying to experience Source Victoria live with the addition of Rick Heins on guitar. I know I have been raving about the band since I first saw them in January, but seriously, each time I pop in The Fast Escape I like them more and more. Lost in the Sun and Matthew Sikora are also on this bill.

Tuesday November 9 – Bad ReligionMarquee Theatre. Don’t even try to claim you’re a fan of old-school punk if you do not like Bad Religion. How Could Hell be any Worse? is still one of my all-time favorite albums from the genre. This band has been pumping out consistently stellar work for 30 years now, and their 2010 release The Dissent of Man is another feather in the cap for this great band. I have not seen them since the tour in support of The Empire Strikes First, so I am very pumped for this show.

Thursday and Friday November 11 & 12 – Fishbone – Marquee Theatre. I doubt if I will go to this, because I cannot think of any relevant music Fishbone has put out out in ages. I love the Fishbone EP, the album The Reality of my Surroundings and the single It’s a Wonderful Life. Back in the day they put on a ferocious live show.

Father Figures at Hollywood Alley 11-13-2010Saturday November 13 – The Father Figures and FlatheadHollywood Alley. I will be taking a class that weekend, so have to skip this show. You really suck at supporting local music if you have not seen The Father Figures yet, because they are one of the best bands in the Valley. Their first studio CD is coming out late January. Go to this show because I am sure loads of material from that disc will be played. Flathead has been around a long time and they are still a great band. I’m missing a good show. 😦

Sunday November 14 – GWAR – Marquee Theatre. I can’t remember what year it was when I saw these guys play at Club Rio. Musically they are horrible, but you do not go to a GWAR show for the music. Wear an all-white t-shirt and stand right up front for the show, you will come home with the best souvenir from the concert. If you don’t why, check out this little clip of GWAR live in concert.

Friday November 19 – Mill’s End – Hollywood Alley. Just in case you miss the show tomorrow night …

Saturday November 20 – Autumn’s EndThe Clubhouse. I feel horrible because Autumn’s End has been playing quite a few shows lately and things (like a cold from Hell) keep getting in the way of my seeing them live. Not this time dangit! Cannella is one of the nicest guys and a monster on the guitar. Check out the Autumn’s End Facebook page for details on how to get tickets for this show cheap!

Tuesday and Wednesday November 23 & 24 – Social Distortion – Marquee Theatre. I have lost track of how many times I have seen Social D in concert. I’ll admit that I am still stuck on Mommy’s Little Monster and the 1945 EP because like Bad Religion the Social Distortion is one of my favorite old-school punk bands. There may be a bit too much country in the mix now for my taste, but these guys still know how to rock. Two shows people, that is how a big of a following they have here.

As always I am sure I missed one or many. Any local bands that read this and want me to add a show please let me know. I love supporting local music and I am so happy with how many great bands there are in town nowadays.

Seeya at First Friday. Cheers!
Frank

Leave a Reply

