Concerts in the Valley of the Sun for the month of October

The National at Bonnaroo 2010Hello everybody,

Sorry this post is a week late, especially after a killer opening weekend of great shows from three of my favorite local bands, The Other 49, The Father Figures and Source Victoria. I hope you had a chance to see at least one if not two of the shows. Bummer that Source and The Father Figures played the same night around the same time, that is twice that has happened this year.

Anyway, October is a good month for live music in the Valley of the Sun. Here is a list of artists I plan to see during the month:

Thursday, October 14 – The NationalMarquee Theatre. FINALLY! After a few years of pathetic ignorance I finally got heavily into The National this year when they released High Violet, which coincidentally is on my short list of Best Albums of 2010. We shall see where the band ends up on that list. Since getting that album I have picked up Boxer and The Virginia ep and am amazed at just how good these guys are. It will be hard to top The Pixies or CAKE for Best Live Show of 2010, but The National certainly has the chops to do it.

Saturday, October 16 – The B-52’sVeteran’s Memorial Coliseum at the Arizona State Fair. I have a huge family get-together on this evening, so unfortunately I will not be going to this show. I saw The B-52’s last year at the inaugural Arizona Fall Frenzy and after all these years they are STILL fun as heck in concert! Their last album Funplex was actually pretty good, and the band still plays classics in concert such as “Planet Claire”, “Private Idaho”, and of course, “Rock Lobster”! One question. Morris Day from The Time opening? Really?

Sunday, October 17 – Frightened RabbitThe Clubhouse. The band was originally going to be here back in April, but Mother Nature decided to cancel their travel plans with that horrific volcano overseas. Luckily for us Frightened Rabbit decided to make another go of it and will be playing in October. Another band I have to admit falling in love with a little late (thanks to So Much Silence for convincing me!), Frightened Rabbit released an outstanding disc this year by the name of The Winter of Mixed Drinks and is sure to play loads of material from that album and their killer debut The Midnight Organ Fight.

Monday, October 18 – Holy FuckRhythm Room. I saw these guys for a brief time at Monolith Festival in 2008 and was impressed. Holy Fuck delivers a pretty intense style of electronica with heavy doses of rock and a little punk, so I am looking forward to seeing a whole set from this artist.

Friday, October 22 – Ra Ra Riot – The Clubhouse. Ra Ra Riot just released their second full-length album entitled The Orchard a few months ago. Personally I am a bit disappointed with the disc, hoping it will grow on me over time. I say that because I have been a fan of these guys since the first time I saw them at the 2007 Monolith Festival at Red Rocks (man, I miss that festival!). Ra Ra Riot has visited Phoenix two other times, playing great shows at the Modified on both occasions.

Saturday, October 23 – Deftones and Autumn’s End“Big Red Night of the Dead” at Fear Farm. A cool little metal festival right around Halloween, hosted by 98KUPD, has become an annual tradition out at Fear Farm. I have never gone, but once I saw the headliner I made plans for this year because I have never seen the Deftones. The new album Diamond Eyes is pretty good, albeit nowhere near the level of their incredible watershed album White Pony from 2000. Solidifying the deal is my buddy Chris Cannella’s band Autumn’s End landing a spot on the bill. Contact Autumn’s End for killer prices on tickets for the show! Both bands are outstanding, plus Suicidal Tendencies is on the bill as well. Granted, they have been worthless since their classic self-titled debut with the KROQ hit “Institutionalized”.

Tuesday, October 26 – Built to Spill – Marquee Theatre. Back for the second time in 2010 after opening for Kings of Leon at Cricket, Built to Spill plays their third show at the Marquee Theatre since 2007. I know because I was at those concerts and guarantee you I will be at this one. An incredible band, both in the studio and onstage, Built to Spill creates some of the most killer indie-rock in the music industry. I love these guys. Best of all, live there is no BS with this band. Built to Spill simply walks onstage, grabs their instruments and delivers a consistent, passionate performance every time.

Thursday, October 28 – Courtney Marie AndrewsStinkweeds Record Store. Since I know there are a lot of chumps in the Valley that can never pay to go see a show, how about a free concert at Stinkweeds, the coolest record and CD store in town? I am such a huge fan of local talent gaining national recognition. Courtney has a spectacular voice and deserves every bit of success coming her way. If you do not recognize the name, but have Jimmy Eat World’s latest album Invented, Andrews sings backing vocals on several of the tracks, including my favorite from that album “Coffee and Cigarettes”. Advance download cards of Courtney’s new album For One I Knew will be available at the store for $8.

Thursday, October 28 – Reverend Horton HeatToby Keith’s I Love This Bar and Grill. I love this trio and just saw an incredible show from the Reverend Horton Heat August 19 of this year, so I am not sure if I will go to the concert. I will say that if you have not seen The Reverend play before, you definitely need to go. They are one of the purest and best live bands around. I hate supporting anything that Toby Keith is involved with though.

Friday, October 29 – Agent Orange – Rhythm Room. An early show at 5pm (they were obviously thinking of the old-school punks like me), the greatest punk rock band of all-time returns to the Valley of the Sun once again, and playing at one of this writer’s favorite venues. I can never mention enough superlatives about the legendary Agent Orange. Trust me, just go. Any fan of music, regardless of the preferred genre, HAS to see vocalist/guitarist Mike Palm at least once.

Saturday, October 30 – Jimmy Eat World and Snake! Snake! Snakes! – Marquee Theatre. Two local heroes on the same bill! Snake! Snake! Snakes! will be opening this show. What a year this great indie-pop band is having, a sensational EP release party at the Rhythm Room earlier in the year and plenty of national attention and airplay. I hope this continues for the band, they deserve it. Jimmy Eat World – what can I say that has not already been said about this great band? I am not expecting the insane atmosphere when they played at The Marquee March of 2009 on the Clarity 10 Tour, but rest assured the locals will give them the warm and rabid reception they deserve. Their latest album Invented was just released, so expect to hear plenty of material from that disc. Hopefully they will dust off “No Sensitivity” once again like they did during the encore of the Clarity 10 tour. Once this show is over you need to stay in Tempe and head over to Hollywood Alley …

Saturday, October 30 – Lords of JackHollywood Alley. I saw this band spring of 2008 at The Alley as well and had a great time. One of the guitarists for the band, known as “The Minister”, lives here in Scottsdale, while the rest of the band I believe live in Los Angeles. I am on the band’s email list and get show updates quite often from these guys. They have played a lot of shows at the Viper Room in California, a pretty impressive feat my friends. My understanding is they have progressed mightily since then, a very cool thing since I really enjoyed seeing them the first time. Lords of Jack just get after it with balls-to-the-wall rock and roll. There is nothing fancy here, just rock and roll the way it should be, fun and heavy.

Any bands reading this – if I forgot your show please let me know. I do enjoy editing these concert calendar posts on the fly. Hope to see all of you at some shows this month.

Cheers!
Frank

2 comments

  1. Dave Marsh · October 11, 2010

    A great blog, Frank. I, too, hope to take in some of these upcoming concerts. I really, really enjoyed Father Figures at Hollywood Alley recently, and would like to see the Other 49 ( I have one of their cds) and Source Victoria. And, of course, the National is a show I will be attending on Thursday.
    Glad you had the time to post this.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Concerts in the Valley of the Sun for the month of October « The Musings of Frank Gallardo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

