Silver Platter Playlist for August 26, 2010

Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings at the Orpheum Theatre 9/26/2010Hello everybody,

Another Silver Platter radio show under my belt! Thursday August 26 was my fifth time as a guest DJ on that show and my sixth overall guest DJ gig on Radio Phoenix (one very cool spot on Henri on the Radio). I am looking forward to more opportunities!

I just love the fact I get to share music I like during these gigs. Hopefully if you have listened to any of the shows I have played something you already liked, or heard something for the first time that piqued your interest. That is the fun thing about sharing music, opportunities to discover a cool new artist.

Silver PlatterAs usual, all of the artists I play on the SilverPlatter.info show will be performing in the Phoenix, Tempe, Glendale and Mesa areas within the next month. It is only an hour-long show, so I can never play all the bands I would like. Check these artists out by clicking on their site that I provided for you, and if you like what you hear make a point of going to see them live.

The National = Fake Empire (live)
Kinch = The Economic Chastisement
Alberta Cross = Broken Side of Time
The Cult = She Sells Sanctuary
Devo = Uncontrollable Urge
Primus = Camelback Cinema
Helmet = Milquetoast
The Pixies = Tame
Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings = My Man is a Mean Man

A few notes in regards to some of the shows. First, if you do not go see The National then I better never hear you cry about good bands not coming to Arizona. Second, I saw Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings at Red Rocks back in 2008 at the Monolith Festival. I guarantee this will be an incredible show and has a definite shot at being my top pick for 2010 Concert of the Year. Third, The Pixies will be performing their watershed second full-length album Doolittle in its entirety during this concert. That is going to be incredible to see! Fourth, The Cult, Devo and Primus, along with other notables such as Stone Temple Pilots and Weezer, will be performing Friday and Saturday, October 17-18, at the second annual Arizona Fall Frenzy at Tempe Beach Park. Tickets are $60 for Friday and $65 for Saturday, plus $15 worth of wonderful fees. Get a hold of me if you plan on going either day, I just may know of cheaper tickets elsewhere …

Enjoy checking out the music and hope to see you at some of the shows. Cheers!

Frank

Leave a Reply

