July wasn’t the best concert month (seriously, Lady Gaga and Justin Bieber in one week?). August will be better for concerts in the Valley of the Sun!

Hello my friends,

Yes, July was a bit of a bummer for good shows here in town. I even blew off going to Day 2 of the 2010 Pitchfork Festival while in Chicago July 14-18 because the Saturday line-up just did not appeal to me. Thanks Randle for the two theatre shows that day!

Anyway, August is much better folks. Here is what Tfronky recommends … and I would have to kick my own ass if I suggested Green Day.

August 11 – Snakes! Snakes! Snakes!Rhythm Room. I have not seen these guys yet, missing out on a chance to see them the first time I saw The Other 49 play. Both bands were playing together that evening, but I left early. Before writing this post I checked out their MySpace page to listen to a sample of their music. I promise that as soon as I am done writing this piece I will go punch myself in the face, because Snakes! Snakes! Snakes! has some KILLER material! Indie-rock with a huge sound, the type of music I absolutely love. This show is the band’s EP release party, so be sure to go.

August 14 – Lords of AcidVenue of Scottsdale. This will be a hoot, as the band is playing as part of the line-up for Sextreme Ball. I think Sextreme Ball is some kind of fetish event. I do know that when Lords of Acid released Lust in 1991 I was hooked. I can remember after-hours at Asylum Nightclub out in Tempe and dancing to “I Sit On Acid”. Any song that starts out with the line “Darling come here, fuck me up the …”, only to be abruptly cut off by the rave beat that begins is cool with me! If I go I hope to hear “I Must Increase My Bust”. 🙂

August 17 – Reverend Horton HeatMarquee Theatre. It has been a long time, too long, since I have seen the mighty Reverend Horton Heat play. Still a three-piece, still with the Reverend on vocals and guitar and Jimbo on stand-up bass, and most important, STILL cranking out the best psychobilly any band can hope to play. I first saw these guys at the tiny Mason Jar eons ago on the Smoke Em’ if You Got Em’ tour and was blown away by the power and precision of this trio. Hopefully at least one song will have the Reverend wailing away on his guitar while standing on Jimbo’s bass.

August 21 – Autumn’s End – Venue of Scottsdale. Metalhead Fest IV happens this evening, and Autumn’s End has the headlining slot at 11:00pm that night. I counted ELEVEN bands on this bill, a pretty mind-blowing amount of metal bands to experience in one day. Death metal is not my genre of choice, but I have always liked this band. Led by long-time friend Chris Cannella on vocals and guitar, Autumn’s End is back after a long absence. They just played at the new Joe’s Grotto July 24 and are now tops on the bill for this concert.

August 25 – AsiaCelebrity Theatre. Shut up. I probably will not go, but to deny the awesomeness of “Heat of the Moment” and “Only Time Will Tell” is asinine. At least I think so.

August 27 – Slayer and MegadethDodge Theatre. Metalheads can rejoice! This show was rescheduled after bassist and lead singer Tom Araya from Slayer was suffering from health issues. He is back and good to go. If you saw The Big Four concert on the big screen like I did, then you know full well Slayer and Megadeth still shred! Slayer remains my all-time favorite metal band and will be playing their classic album Seasons in the Abyss in its entirety. Too bad Reign in Blood was not the album of choice to play, but they have done that tour already. Megadeth remains the most polished and professional thrash metal band of all-time. Their performance at The Big Four concert was insane. Megadeth plans to play their 1990 classic album Rust in Peace in its entirety during this show.

This tour is named the “American Carnage Tour. The last time I saw these two bands play together was back in 1991 at the “Clash of the Titans Tour”. Anthrax, one of the members of The Big Four, also played that show, and it was recently announced that leg 2 of American Carnage will add Anthrax to the bill. Hopefully a return date to Phoenix!

August 27 – The Father Figures – Arizona Biltmore Hotel. HUH?! The Father Figures at the Biltmore? Yep, this is not a joke my friends. August 27-29 the Biltmore plays host to the Hell City Tattoo Festival. The Father Figures will play the first day of the event and have lots of great, new material to unleash on their fans.

August 27 – The Tubes and The Static SessionCompound Grill. Not a huge Tubes fan, but they had a few songs I could get into, including “Talk To Ya Later” and “White Punks On Dope”. I really like what I have heard from The Static Session, a band that plays some very cool shoegaze-infused indie rock. If you do not go to one of the previously mentioned shows on this date, make a point of checking out The Static Session.

August 28 – Stan Ridgway – Rhythm Room. Early show for us wily veterans of the 80’s new wave scene, 5pm! It amazes me I have never seen Stan Ridgway live, either during his long solo career or his incredible, all-too-short career with Wall of Voodoo. Most people have heard that classic 80’s tune “Mexican Radio” at least once. Check out this video for “Back in Flesh” from the outstanding concert movie “Urgh! A  Music War”, a song much more indicative of that band’s work. Stan Ridgway has released ten solo discs in his distinguished career and collaborated on a killer track with Stewart Copeland from The Police called “Don’t Box Me In” , a song created for the 1983 movie “Rumblefish” based on the outstanding S.E. Hinton novel.

August 30 – Soft Drink – Rhythm Room. The Delta Mirror and Useless Keys are also on this bill. I saw Soft Drink a few weeks ago at the So Much Silence 5th Anniversary Show and was really impressed with the style of indie-pop they delivered. It will be fun to see them at one of my favorite venues in town.

Whew! That is a lot of great shows my friends, including three in one night! Support our local venues, local bands and local shows and give the middle finger to Sound Strike!

Cheers!
Frank

5 comments

  1. Bob · July 28, 2010

    Frank, Darn, I would have gone to both of those concerts.

  2. tfronky · July 28, 2010

    The sad thing is I believe you.

  3. john enk · July 28, 2010

    Lady Gaga and Justin Bieber in the same year can be more than enough, I hope we can catch a few key performances in September!

  4. Brad Wiatr · July 29, 2010

    That Snakes! show should be pretty sweet; there are some other good artists on the bill too – Gospel Claws and I’ve heard Sister Cities as well. Aaron and I will see you there if you end up going. 😀

  5. tfronky · July 29, 2010

    Hey Brad,

    I’ll definitely see the two of you that night, looking forward to seeing them. You guys need to play again, that was a killer show earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

