After a bit of a lull, I went on one of my typical CD splurges. There is some KILLER new music out!

Hey everybody,

Ever since the We Were Promised Jetpacks show a couple of weeks ago I have been on a bit of a rampage in regards to buying new CD’s. Yes, the actual discs, not just downloads. Do we need to talk once again about my feelings regarding the compact disc?

I digress. I have picked up four new releases and four used discs in the past couple of weeks. Three of the new CD’s I have listened to and plan to post reviews on Stinkweeds Records for, so I won’t waste your time with the review here. The fourth I started to listen to yesterday and will finish up today. Here is a list of the albums, check them out when you get a chance!

NEW ALBUMS
Frightened Rabbit - Winter of Mixed DrinksFrightened RabbitWinter of Mixed Drinks. The third studio album from Scotland’s Frightened Rabbit, and the first of two new albums I picked up from artists on the FatCat Records roster. I am a late-comer to these guys, a big thanks to the very cool blog So Much Silence for turning me on to this great band.

Heligoland - Massive AttackMassive AttackHeligoland. So there I was, browsing in Stinkweeds, when Guy Garvey’s voice came over the speakers. Wait, Elbow is in the studio right now, but that’s a new song! It turns out Garvey, Tunde Adebimpe from TV on the Radio and Hope Sandoval of Mazzy Star fame are just three of the guest vocalists on this disc. I have never been a fan of trip hop, but anything Guy Garvey contributes to is something I have to check out. Heligoland is the fifth studio album from Massive Attack.

Rogue Wave - PermalightRogue WavePermalight. The fourth album from this great band, I saw them open for Nada Surf years ago and was blown away. This is the one new disc I have not listened to yet, and have been told it is a bit different from previous releases. No matter, I am a big fan of the band’s mellow to mid-tempo indie pop.

We Were Promised Jetpacks - The Last Place You'll LookWe Were Promised JetpacksThe Last Place You’ll Look. I bought this the night of the band’s unbelievable concert at the Rhythm Room February 23. A five song EP with new remixes of two songs from their debut album These Four Walls, this disc shows considerable progression from the band. Get it today!

USED ALBUMS
Chapterhouse - Blood MusicChapterhouseBlood Music. I always felt this band was a bit overlooked from the UK shoegaze movement. Blood Music was the band’s second album and my favorite from their catalog. This a reissue of the album with additional tracks, but as long as the incredible track Greater Power is still included it is a great find.

Foo Fighters - The Colour and the ShapeFoo FightersThe Colour and the Shape. Of course I have had this for years, I have liked this band since their conception. How many of you can claim you saw them OPEN for Mike Watt at Gibson’s? The Colour and the Shape was the watershed second album from the Foo Fighters, an incredible album of intense rock and roll laced with pop hooks. Why get it again? This reissue contains six extra tracks, the gems being four covers: Requiem from Killing Joke; Drive Me Wild from Vanity 6; a great cover of Baker Street from Gerry Rafferty and an unbelievable cover of Down in the Park from the Tubeway Army. That was Gary Numan’s band for the uninitiated.

Jesus and Mary Chain - DarklandsJesus and Mary ChainDarklands. The band’s sophomore effort was not the incendiary piece of feedback-laced, surf inspired Britpop their incredible debut Psychocandy was, but it is still a very good album. My favorite song from the band, Happy When it Rains, was on this disc, along with outstanding tracks such as Down on Me and April Skies. The output from The JAMC steadily went downhill after this.

Public Enemy - It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us BackPublic EnemyIt Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back. The second album from my favorite hip-hop band of all-time, this album put PE firmly on the map as a major force in the music community. Sixteen tracks of politically charged, intelligent rap, this sounds as good today as it did 22 years ago.

A good two weeks of music acquisition. This has been a great year in terms of studio and live music so far!

Cheers!
Frank

Leave a Reply

