TONIGHT! We Were Promised Jetpacks at the Rhythm Room.

We Were Promised Jetpacks - These Four Walls

Tonight I get to see one of the bands from the amazing roster of FatCat Records, Scotland’s We Were Promised Jetpacks. Their 2009 release These Four Walls was my #7 pick for Best Albums of 2009. To say I am pumped for this show is quite the understatement!

I made a point of listening to the entire disc on the way to work today. Wow, what a power packed disc of outstanding indie pop, full of buzzsaw guitars, incredible vocals and well-crafted structure in every tune. We Were Promised Jetpacks created an album that should translate incredibly well to a live setting.

I love the Rhythm Room, one of my favorite local venues for many a year now. I don’t know if the venue will be able to contain the type of energy and power WWPJ are capable of delivering, particularly on two of their most intense tracks, It’s Thunder and Lightning and Short Bursts. I hope the band lets loose on both of those songs during tonight’s set.

Bear Hands from Brooklyn, NY and Phoenix’s own Colorstore will be opening the show, with doors slated to open at 7:30pm. If you do not have your ticket already, give Stinkweeds a holler, I know they were selling tickets to the concert. Get there early, Colorstore is a very good local band that deserves support from the locals, and after checking out the MySpace page for Bear Hands, I can sense we are in for a stellar evening of indie pop!

Seeya there, cheers!

Frank

Live review of We Were Promised Jetpacks, courtesy of So Much Silence
Review of These Four Walls, courtesy of Stinkweeds Records

3 comments

  1. Dave Marsh · February 23, 2010

    I know WWPJ is one of your favorite bands, and I hope you have a great time. Looking forward to your concert review.

  2. tfronky · February 23, 2010

    Thanks for the comment David, I’m glad someone consistently leaves one :-)!

    I’m sure I’ll have a great time, hope it doesn’t take me multiple days to do the review afterward.

  3. Me · February 25, 2010

    Bring me back a pirated copy of the show!! JK, you can just buy me a CD… Hope it was a good show. I am a fan of them as well.

Leave a Reply

