Concerts for the month of February

Hello everyone,

It is the first of the month, and there are a few shows to talk about so far for the month of February. There are not many I intend to go to so far, but the nice thing is there is plenty of time to add more. Definitely keep your eye on the 6th and 23rd of this month!

February 6 – Father Figures at the Rogue Bar. Amazing that as much as I have raved about this band, this will only be my second time seeing them. I guarantee you will have a great time at this show. The Father Figures deliver a style of post-punk that is reminiscent of some of the classic bands of that genre from the late seventies and early eighties, with a splash of Interpol in the mix.

February 11 – St. Vincent at the Rhythm Room. I had the pleasure of seeing this dynamite performer at the Modified last year. The venue was packed for that show, so it only makes sense that her return trip to Phoenix would be at a bigger venue. Her style brings to mind early P.J. Harvey, with the same type of classical vocal style. I feel very strongly that this show may sell out, so I would not wait to get tickets.

February 12 – Exene Cervenka and Flathead at the Sail Inn. Flathead has been around the Valley of the Sun for well over a decade, always delivering great sets of country-tinged rockabilly, punk rock and bluegrass. They will be a great opener for the legendary Exene, one-half of one of my all-time favorite singing duos in the band X. I have to admit not being overly familiar with her solo work, but as a long-time fan of X I am looking forward to this show. I have never been to the Sail Inn, so that part of the evening intrigues me as well.

February 18 – Henry Rollins at the Marquee Theatre. It has been well over a decade since I last saw Rollins sing in a band, but I have had the pleasure of seeing him do spoken word performances on a few occasions, the last opportunity being last year at Coachella. I never got to see him back in the day in State Of Alert, but I have seen Hank in Black Flag and the Rollins Band. Whether he is on the mic singing or telling tales, it is a guarantee that Henry Rollins will deliver an intense performance and cause you to think. Like him or not, you have to respect his work ethic and his steadfast devotion to visiting the U.S. troops overseas. He uttered one of my favorite quotes during an interview for Details Magazine years ago; “I didn’t get a Ph.D. I just said, ‘I don’t want to work at Pizza Hut. I don’t want to join the Navy. I guess I’ll have to go out and be awesome.'”

February 19 – Source Victoria at Teakwoods Tavern and Grill. Yep, one of my favorite local bands is playing again, this time at Teakwoods on 28th Street and Indian School Road. Read my review of Source Victoria at the Yucca Tap Room and you will quickly see why I have become such a fan of this band. If I have not convinced you by now to check these guys out, I honestly do not know what else to say.

February 20 – Flotsam and Jetsam, Sacred Reich, Pelvic Meatloaf, Altered Silence, Castles in Spain, FreeWill, H8 Inc. at Club Stratus. Wow, what a line-up! It has been years since I saw either Flotsam and Jetsam or Sacred Reich. This is a benefit and memorial show for Nino Notaro, whom some of you may remember from his days as Sepultura’s sound man. The proceeds from this concert will benefit his daughter Sophie. There will be music memorabilia auctions, plus lots of giveaways. Come out and hear some killer metal and support a great cause in the process. The address to Club Stratus is 2102 N. 23rd Avenue.

February 23 – We Were Promised Jetpacks at the Rhythm Room. To say I am pumped for this show is an understatement. Another incredible band on the FatCat Records roster, We Were Promised Jetpacks delivered my #7 pick for Best Albums of 2009. This band delivers high-octane indie-pop in the vein of Cut Off Your Hands. It’s Thunder and Lightning, the lead track from their album These Four Walls, is absolutely mind-blowing. This concert has all the makings of landing a spot in my Top Ten Concerts of 2010, I have that high of expectations for this show. Don’t miss!

February 27 – Father Figures at Joe’s Grotto. Read my review of The Father Figures at The Rogue East to see why you should go to this show. And buy a shirt. Do it.

As always, if there is a show you think should be on this list, by all means comment and tell me where I went wrong. As concerts get added during the month I will make edits as well. It is always a process my friends. Have fun!

Cheers!
Frank

2 comments

  1. jeremx · February 16, 2010

    kids that like frankie muniz’s new band hate the father figures. just sayin’.

    http://blogs.phoenixnewtimes.com/uponsun/2010/02/hung_up_on_you_hang_up_former.php

    too funny.

  2. tfronky · February 16, 2010

    WOW! Jeremx, thanks for supporting The Father Figures. I read most of the comments on the blog you linked your post to and was laughing hysterically. The little children just don’t get it.

    I also checked out You Hang Up. Not bad, but with fans like the ones they have I don’t know if I could ever like them. Too bad.

Leave a Reply

