2010 has arrived!

Bogus!

"Bogus!"

Hello all,

2010 is here, and needless to say after the “wonderful” end to the year and the decade, I am really psyched for a new year, a new decade and new beginnings.

I posted something on my Facebook page a few days ago which stated “Frank Gallardo has decided the 2010 New Year’s resolution is the elimination of anything bogus in his life.” A number of people have sent me private comments asking what I meant.

The definition of the word “bogus” from Dictionary.com is “not genuine; counterfeit; spurious; sham”. Still, how could that refer to the human existence, or at least in this case, mine?

I have had a lot of time to think, to contemplate things, to undergo a lot of introspection in the past three weeks. It has not been a sad time, rather a period of time to prioritize things in my mind and put together a course of action. I remain positive about what the New Year will bring and do believe patience will prevail over any frustration about the progress of things in my life.

Part of that process is the elimination of things that only serve to keep me from progressing and keep me from growing. Once again, the realization of the absolute lack of control I have over people, places and things has delivered a strong punch in the gut, which all too often is the only way I remember that to be the case. I am much better today than I was 20-plus years ago in this regard, but I am human, and do still make an effort to assert my control over those three key parts of my existence.

The biggest issue will be to determine what are the bogus things in my life!

People? My good friend Fitz used to say, “I have too many friends.” It was not until this year that I began to understand that, or at least come up with an interpretation that made sense to me. I understand that logic today.

Places? I have a pretty good idea what course to take in that regard. Hopefully what I intend to do and accomplish in 2010 will indeed occur. If nothing else, another trip to Seattle at some point! I see Bumbershoot in my future …

Things? That is much more complicated.

A lot of work lies ahead of me, and I like it that way. New employment, plus a new respect for and attitude towards my relationships to people, places and things. This is going to be a good year.

Cheers!
Frank

3 comments

  1. Robert Dean · January 2, 2010

    Spectacular start to the new year my friend!! Way to go.

    BD

  2. Me · January 2, 2010

    Things? Try the minimalist lifestyle. I have always wanted to do that and it would sure make it easy to just pick up and go whenever and wherever you want. Hardest thing for me to give up, and I am sure you would agree, is my ever growing & expansive music collection.

  3. tfronky · January 2, 2010

    For me things does not necessarily refer to anything materialistic. My possessions are actually at a minimum. Other than my CD’s and books, I do not have a lot of “things”.

    No, in this case “things” refers to anything external that does not refer to an individual or a location. And therein lies the dilemma, but I will figure it out.

Leave a Reply

