So a new chapter in Tfronky’s life begins …

Wow, what a day. In fact, what a trip this has been for nine days, and although still in a bit of shock over things, it hit me that the only rational way for me to deal with the loss is to get out the laptop and write.

After 3 years and 4 months of my life, my career at RazorGator has come to an abrupt end. Well, abrupt in the sense I thought I had more time, but isn’t that always the case?

I have no intent of using this forum for anything negative. I enjoyed my time with the company, met some good people and learned a lot of new skills that will hopefully pay dividends in whatever comes along next. Do I have an opinion in regards to the manner in which this whole situation was played out? You bet, but that is wasted energy.

Sure, I’m bummed today, and it would not surprise me if I am bummed for a few days. Maybe the line of thinking from the employer is correct, lay off or fire an employee close to the weekend to give him a few days to mentally, spiritually and emotionally recuperate. I have a feeling Friday will entail hiding out at home, listening to the iPod and reading a book or two. Saturday is an evening with Big Red, something that always makes me feel good. Sunday is breakfast with a good friend and teacher from my high school days, then a day with the family doing whatever. I like the sounds of all that!

Too often in my life I have to be slapped in the face hard to be reminded I do not have control over what occurs from one day to the next. I can make all the plans I want, but to think I have any part in planning the results has once again proven to be an exercise in futility. That is okay, and the quicker I approve of that being the case, the quicker I get into acceptance, and the quicker I get into action.

Yes my friends, acceptance DOES mean approval. Gary McClure, may he rest in peace, taught me that years ago. Once I am 100% comfortable with the fact that I will no longer have a need to travel to the office everyday, at least for that particular company, I can move on and be happy.

So look out world, Tfronky is coming! And at the age of 40, I have every intention of doing something that makes me happy first.

Cheers,
Frank

11 comments

  1. Daria · December 10, 2009

    You are an amazing man! I love and miss you mexican!
    your favorite mexican’t

    Daria

  2. Zach · December 11, 2009

    Frank, it was a pleasure working with you. You have a great talent and I’m sure you’ll continue to impress wherever your journey takes you next.

  3. tfronky · December 11, 2009

    Thanks you two! I really appreciate the comments. Zach, working with you was a good time, I know we’ll both come out okay in the long run from this experience. And yes Daria, you are my favorite Mexican’t!

  4. Casie · December 11, 2009

    Frank, I will miss you and working with you as well. I am so lonely that I had to move into Haro’s office, so I didn’t go homicidal on the other person that was left here. I hope everything works out and you find something that you enjoy, makes you happy and fulfilled. Peace the spork out! xoxoxo Cassie 😀

  5. tfronky · December 11, 2009

    Casie, I loved working with you, it was always a good time. It was nice to be next to someone that could multi-task in the same manner, so we could work and chat at the same time. I am glad you moved into Chris’s office, I was really worried about you.

    I’ll be fine, you just take care of yourself. At this point all I can say is “What the french?!”

  6. Brad · December 11, 2009

    This post was so very unFrank like. I was looking forward to a rant when I finally visited your blog. You were missed today. I came down to borrow a dollar, but that didn’t work out. It is becoming a such a ghost town in there. There are two wings of the office that are now completely empty. I’ll be a part of the next round and I can’t say I am looking forward to that. It’s been a good run, but nothing lasts forever.

  7. tfronky · December 11, 2009

    You’re right Brad, nothing lasts forever. Please do me a favor and update your resume and prepare. I wasn’t blindsided, but it still happened much quicker than I imagined.

    I will say I woke up today sad I was not going in, but relieved I no longer have that responsibility. They hired two people to replace me. That makes me feel pretty good about things.

    Why rant about things? Staying positive will make the process easier to deal with, plus I have no desire to sink to their level. I read that Ticket News link once again today and realized just how little they care about others. I don’t need to sink to that level.

    We’re friends and have been a long time, that is what matters.

  8. Zach · December 11, 2009

    Frank, just do me one favor. If you ever end up in a similar situation, please be sure to remove Frodo from your pants before going into the meeting.

  9. tfronky · December 12, 2009

    LOL I can’t believe that happened, awesome!

  10. El Mustache · December 16, 2009

    Your gonna end up on top man. You are one of the hardest working & thorough people I have ever worked with. Cheers

  11. tfronky · December 16, 2009

    Thanks man. That was easy though when I was working for you. You never micro-managed, you just let us work. I do well in those scenarios.

Leave a Reply

