My favorite holiday of the year – Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

Honestly, I love this holiday more than any other folks. I know my days of wrestling contribute to the obvious love of the food aspect. I really do not miss the days of jogging in the morning, eating just one small portion for dinner, then jogging again at night to make sure the weight gain was minimal. Today let’s be honest, the more turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy I can shove down my throat the better. This is the one time of year gluttony is somewhat acceptable.

I have never been a Dallas Cowboys or Detroit Lions fan, but let’s face it, what would Thanksgiving be without a healthy dose of football during the day? Plus the Texas Longhorns and the Texas A&M Aggies go at it on this day, just to ensure the sports nut in me has a dose of college football as well.

But the main reason folks is not the two aforementioned reasons. No, I truly am grateful on this day, for family, for friends, for my life. It is easy to get complacent about things, complain when things are not 100% my way and momentarily get on a pity pot.

Lame. I need to remind myself how much I have to be grateful for when I enter that mode. November 2, 2005, I was laying in a hospital bed after suffering a heart attack and having a stent put in, and I remember telling myself, “well, this isn’t what I ever planned, but what next?” I was really surprised that I was not in that “woe is me” mode, but honestly believing that for whatever reason I had another shot at things. When I live my life in that manner, things fall into place, I am content and I stay out of my own head. Those are the moments I am of maximum service to others.

There was a movie that came out back in 1990 by the name of Pump Up the Volume. A fun movie, a great soundtrack, and one quote from the main character played by Christian Slater resonates with me today. “Being a teenager sucks, but that’s the point.”

Life is not supposed to be simple. But that’s the point! When I pause, like I am right now while writing this, I realize I have a lot to be grateful for and much to enjoy about my life. When I pause, that is when peace is a part of me and I get out of that sarcastic, negative mode that I am all too well-known for, and let’s be honest, mildly humorous for a while, irritating after an extended period!

Do yourself a favor sometime during the Thanksgiving holiday. Make yourself a gratitude list and see on paper how good life really is, and call a friend you have not spoken with in some time. Enjoy your day!

Cheers!
Frank

One comment

  1. Dave Marsh · November 25, 2009

    Such a beautiful sentiment, Frank. I wish you the very best Thanksgiving better, followed by a weekend of joy and love.

Leave a Reply

